No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Couldn't even eat it. The 1 cup butter turned the oatmeal into an oily oatmeal sludge. Other than the chocolate, it had no flavor except butter. I hate to toss food so I attempted to save some of the ingredients by cutting off the bottom and top oatmeal, remelt the chocolate, chop up a 1/2 cup of cashews I had in the cupboard, and toss in a couple handfuls of rice Krispies. Along with the small amount of oatmeal that was left in the chocolate, I dumped it all on wax paper over a cookie sheet and put in the frig. I'm not passing this on as a recipe. It's just what I used to make a treat I could eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
The concept here is a good one. But they were way too sweet and a little greasy. Next time I'm going to cut the sugar and butter in half. It also needed a little something extra. I still can't decide quite what. I might add some peanut butter to the oat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I love this recipe! I added half the amount of butter but with 2 spoons of milk. Between first layer of oats I added one layer of Marzipan, then chocolate with peanut butter and then rest of oats. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Just boring and a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I liked the flavor and idea of these bars but I have to say I wasn't a fan of the rather "rough" raw oatmeal texture of them. I melted the butter and added the sugar and oats, and put it in the microwave rather than do it on the stovetop. I put it in for two minutes on med low but if I make these again I will maybe try three or four minutes instead. Also I took other suggestions and cut the butter by 1/4 cup and it was still a bit on the greasy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was just O.K. to us, pretty bland. The oat topping and oat bottom were so crumbly that it almost all fell off which is the main reason for a rating of 3. I will probably not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Made this yesterday as a surprise dessert and it came out great! Was VERY rich, so we could only eat a small square of it. Put it in the freezer for 3 hours, then took it out to sit on the counter for 30 minutes before cutting it up. Did not get the defined layers like the pictures, so I think next time I will let the chocolate cool before putting on the top layer of oats. Was still really good! Made it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This is most bland, tasteless thing I have ever made from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Great recipe! Thanks for the tips. I did increase peanut butter to 3/4 c. and decreased butter to 3/4 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this with 3/4 cup butter and 2 T milk and got a good consistency for the crust. I thought this cookie was good, but not outstanding. There are other cookie recipes I like better, so I probably won't make this one again. It's not like it's especially easy as a no-bake, since you have two separate pots on the stove, plus you have to let the bars cool for several hours. Oh, and definitely eat them cold, much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States