No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Too rich for me, but everyone else really liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Im giving this 5 stars, even though i slightly changed a few things, based on the reviews. I doubled the recipe, to make a 9x13 dish. I did however NOT double the butter. I used only 1 cup of butter, and 1 cup of applesauce instead. Also used 4 cups of Oats, and 2 cups of coconut flakes. And added about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips into the oatmeal mixutre, once off the heat, so there would be something crunchy in the bars. My bars have only been chilled for 3 hours, and seem on the softerside... but thats beause of the apple sauce. Definatly will slice, and move them to the freezer, so they will be handy to pull out during the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Way too much butter. It is like eating grease left over in a fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
these are great I did find it hard to keep oats on but if you press down hard it will stick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Pretty disappointing. There wasn't much too these bars, and the oats crumbled off all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I've made these several times and they never fail to be a favorite. Kids, adults just about anyone loves these. They are so simple and quick. Great anytime of year, but in summer it's nice to keep the oven off, yet get a rich dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
It's a great dessert. I tried to make it healthier so I also did 1/2 cup of butter but I added a 4oz of applesauce to make up for the rest of the butter. The rest was according to the recipe. Turned out to be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
These are very tasty and the family just gobbled them up. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe without modifications! I've made a double batch twice in the past month, and both times they have disappeared very quickly. In some other no-bake oatmeal bars I've tried, the oats seem too hard, almost painful to chew; not so with this recipe, when prepared as instructed. The oats cook just enough to take the edge off but not get mushy. I simply doubled all the ingredients and used a jelly roll pan lined with that stuff that's parchment paper on one side and foil on the other, foil side down. After letting them sit in the fridge overnight, I pulled the whole slab out of the pan using the liner and let them sit for about 10 minutes to soften slightly. Then I used a pizza cutter to cut them into bars. Storing them in the fridge is a must, IMO; they get a little too soft and the butter starts to "leak" out of them at room temperature. I layered mine with waxed paper in a square plastic container and they kept quite well in the refrigerator. They make a nice snack and even a nice power breakfast treat if you're in a hurry. I will make these again and again; they would probably make great holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States