No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe without modifications! I've made a double batch twice in the past month, and both times they have disappeared very quickly. In some other no-bake oatmeal bars I've tried, the oats seem too hard, almost painful to chew; not so with this recipe, when prepared as instructed. The oats cook just enough to take the edge off but not get mushy. I simply doubled all the ingredients and used a jelly roll pan lined with that stuff that's parchment paper on one side and foil on the other, foil side down. After letting them sit in the fridge overnight, I pulled the whole slab out of the pan using the liner and let them sit for about 10 minutes to soften slightly. Then I used a pizza cutter to cut them into bars. Storing them in the fridge is a must, IMO; they get a little too soft and the butter starts to "leak" out of them at room temperature. I layered mine with waxed paper in a square plastic container and they kept quite well in the refrigerator. They make a nice snack and even a nice power breakfast treat if you're in a hurry. I will make these again and again; they would probably make great holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made this recipe before looking at the nutritional information. I won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Loved this. It was so simple to make when I get home from work, and it is so yummy. Even my picky 7 year old (who normally wouldn't TOUCH oatmeal) loves it. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Omg, INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS!!!!! & SO easy to make!! I added chopped salted almonds, a little vanilla unsweetened almond milk to the chocolate mixture...used dark chocolate chips rather then semi-sweet & used a combo of organic coconut oil & I can't believe it's not butter. Oh & used steel-cut oats- that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I tried to follow reviews about decreasing the butter by 1/4 cup and it didn't seem to work to well for me. The oatmeal ended up pretty crumbly and didn't stick together to make bars. The filling was okay. I liked the flavor, but it probably needs doubled to make it a hearty bar that is worth eating. I think I will pass this one up in the future and go with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Delicious! (Good tip:Reserve only 1/3 for topping)....Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
These were easy and very good! Mine were a little crumbly, so next time I'll reduce the butter like others have mentioned. I put 16 M&M's on top so each square would have one and it looked festive. They're definitely better chilled. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYHEYPAULA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Used 3/4 cup grass fed butter and 3/4 cup peanut butter as recommended. These are so easy to make and delicious and gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have made this recipe twice for 2 different parties and on both occasions they disappeared before the other desserts - everyone loved them. My last party was a Luau so I added macadamia nuts to give them a Hawaiian make-over but I think they are best without changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was yummy. However, I would suggest doubling the amount of ingredients to make the bars thicker. The recipe listed here makes only a thin layer (even with a 9x9 square pan), in my opinion. I will make this next time with thicker layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States