No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These are good bar cookies, but not fabulous. They can use less butter ( I followed the recipe exactly and there was butter not soaked up by the oats). I agree with others that you can reduce the butter by at least a quarter cup if not a bit more. Also, to make them look like the photo, I think you probably have to make them in an 8x8 (mine were much thinner in a 9x9). At any rate, not sure I'll make them again, but it was worth a try! Addendum: I have to increase this score to 4 stars, all my friends seem to like these very much, so in all fairness, I am giving them more stars than I initially noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
AMAZING. next time I'll make it not soo sweet...I only put a hint of peanut butter since I'm not a big fan and it was soo good. the tiny bit of peanut butter gave the desert a pleasant surprise. first you tasted chocolate then the hint of peanut then chocolate again. YUM. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Excellent! Make these again. Decrease the butter to 3/4 cup for the oatmeal mixture. Use 1 1/4 cups choc chips and 3/4 cup peanut butter for the middle chocolatey mixture. Better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Eh. i followed other's suggestions and used 3/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup PB and they were fine, but nothing special. if you have a craving for PB/chocolate you could just spread some PB on a chocolate bar and get the same effect with fewer calories. the oats do provide some crunch, which is nice, but i don't think this recipe is worth the 10 min it takes to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These turned out pretty good. They were really rich. Not my all time favorite dessert, but not bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These were awesome and a keeper for summer when I don't want to heat up the house. Did follow others advice when making a double batch and only used 1 1/2 cups of butter. It was great, no problems with crumbling either. They are good right out of the fridge or at room temperature. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajbrumbaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These got rave reviews from my family and from me. I took the advice of others and decreased the butter by 1/4 cup and increased the peanut butter by 1/4 cup. Also used a mix of quick and regular oats and cooked the oat mixture a few minutes longer than called for. The suggestion to line the pan with foil worked out beautifully - just lift and cut. Thanks for the recipe and for the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Smelled soooo good when the PB and chocolate were melting together and now these are my husband's fave treat. Followed the recipe and these were so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe! I run a daycare and the kids are always asking me to make these for snack...even the pickiest of eaters! I have also reduced the butter by 1/4 cup as I found them a little greasy the first time I made them. I also add 1/4 cup of graham crumbs to the oat topping. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
have had these at coffee bars...decided to try to make them myself...your recipte amounts are not accurate...you need four times the cups of chips to get the thickness of chocolate shown in the photo...thank goodness as the small amount of peanut butter called for ruined the chocolate taste but was solved when adding more chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States