No Bake Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
I've been looking all over for a good macaroon like cookie recipe and thought I would give this one a try--it was a total waste of ingredients: too sweet, too much oatmeal...it says to spoon onto wax paper, well its pretty hard to spoon out a bowl of crumbs. YUCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I love this recipe, I make them every Christmas as part of my goodie bags - everyone always wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I make these at night right after the kids are in bed and usually they are gone before morning, my husband likes them so much he waits until I am in bed then sneaks to the kitchen. I normally combine peanut butter and coconut - the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Cookies are fantastic but don't boil as long as recipe says. Two minutes is all that is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
I wouldn't call these bad, but I wouldn't call them great either. I agree with my wife; she called them "weird." My biggest complaint is not the flavor, but the fact that they never set. 1 1/2 hours of cooling on the table, 4 hours of cooling in the fridge, 2 hours of cooling in the freezer, and I still had to peel and scoop these things off the wax paper. They have the consistency of peanut butter. The flavor isn't too bad, but don't expect them to taste like cookies. Expect them to taste "a lot like candy." Oh, and keep a lot of wet towels around, because if you do somehow get them to set, they're going to melt in two seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
These are my husband and daughter's favorite "cookies". They are actually somewhere between a cookie and a candy. I only use 1/4 cup (1 stick) of margarine. Also, I agree only two minutes after mixture comes to a boil or you'll have a pan full of crumbs. A yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I have made two separate batches and loved both of them. The second one I made I did not have quite enough oats so used 1/2 oats and 1/2 rice krispies. Very good! After spooning them onto the wax paper I pressed red and green M&M's into the center of each cookie. This made them very festive looking on the cookie tray. I think I will do the same for other holidays as well since they add such a nice color. These make wonderful gift's for friends/relatives. Very fast and easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
These were certainly interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I also adjusted the boil time to 2 minutes, and increased the cocoa a bit--and made teaspoon sized cookies - everyone loves them! I'd made a similar recipe for years, but always overcooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Definately doesn't neeed 5 minutes to boil. I was spooning out crumbs in the end, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States