No Bake Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.The cookies wouldn't stick together, there was WAY too much sugar. No near enough cocoa powder. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Don't try to make these when it's raining or otherwise humid: they will not set in humid weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
To who said refrigerate them and cut out sugar. They don't need to be refrigerated if made correctly. I suspect cutting the sugar down may have caused them to not set up properly - the proportions are as they are because these are a candy based "cookie" without the correct measurements - they will fail. Also - the oatmeal does not need to be cooked. Either quick oats or slow oats. Quick oats do work better but neither needs to be cooked. I'm suspecting adding cooked oats would also cause there to be too much moisture which would affect the candy base from setting properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cardston, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was awesome!!! I used only 1 1/4 cups of sugar and instead of rolled oats I used "9 Grain" (wheat germ, flax, bran etc) and 1 1/2 cups of coconut! Super yummy and now my family doesn't know they are healthier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I've used this recipe for years. the cookies always turn out perfect. I put them on wax paper and immediately put them in the frig to set up. I've always used quick oats and have never cooked the oaks. A great simple cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I took the advice of other reviewers who only boiled for two minutes and greatly disliked the results - the cookies came out very gooey and sticky. I made another batch and boiled for 4-5 minutes as per the recipe, and they came out just as I wanted them. So I guess some people like theirs a different consistency - if you like them gooey, boil for less time; if you like them more like a macaroon cookie, drier and crumblier, then boil for longer. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 1 and a half cups, and reduced the oats to 2 and a half while increasing the coconut to a full cup (I like them more like a macaroon). Next time I may tweak the oats and coconut even further. But in any case, they were delicious, and I'm glad to have a go-to recipe for these at last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I love these. They, are so easy, and so delicious! I like to keep half of them in the freezer for a rainy day. I also like to add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, just because I am a sweet freak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These are really close to a recipe we used to make at my house when I was a kid. They are tastey, but don't set quite as well as I remember the other ones did. I'll have to keep looking for that recipe we used to use...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Boiled for 2 minutes, used 1/2 cup peanut butter instead of coconut and they turned out amazing! These cookies are so delicious, I can't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is a very old cookie. I have seen varying amounts on the ingredients but always the same ones. use quick oats--- do not cook the oats--- boil to so when dripped into cold water you can form a ball you you can pick up 5-6 min this is a firm cookie not soggy...if it does not set up it was not cooked enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States