No Bake Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I took the advice of other reviewers who only boiled for two minutes and greatly disliked the results - the cookies came out very gooey and sticky. I made another batch and boiled for 4-5 minutes as per the recipe, and they came out just as I wanted them. So I guess some people like theirs a different consistency - if you like them gooey, boil for less time; if you like them more like a macaroon cookie, drier and crumblier, then boil for longer. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 1 and a half cups, and reduced the oats to 2 and a half while increasing the coconut to a full cup (I like them more like a macaroon). Next time I may tweak the oats and coconut even further. But in any case, they were delicious, and I'm glad to have a go-to recipe for these at last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I love these. They, are so easy, and so delicious! I like to keep half of them in the freezer for a rainy day. I also like to add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, just because I am a sweet freak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These are really close to a recipe we used to make at my house when I was a kid. They are tastey, but don't set quite as well as I remember the other ones did. I'll have to keep looking for that recipe we used to use...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Keusen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Boiled for 2 minutes, used 1/2 cup peanut butter instead of coconut and they turned out amazing! These cookies are so delicious, I can't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is a very old cookie. I have seen varying amounts on the ingredients but always the same ones. use quick oats--- do not cook the oats--- boil to so when dripped into cold water you can form a ball you you can pick up 5-6 min this is a firm cookie not soggy...if it does not set up it was not cooked enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I guess I'm just not a big fan of no bake cookies...These were okay. I reduced the sugar to one and a half cups and used a little less oatmeal. Most everyone else liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Loved it! They are my husband's favorite cookie and he approved :) They were a lot richer than the one's his mom made but it wasn't a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I've actually been making these for years without coconut. As the one person said, you DO NOT cook the oatmeal. I think 2 1/2 cups of oats is enough, otherwise they start to dry out. But, if that happens, just add a little water or milk, until it is the consistency you are happy with. This year, I have decided to cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. This is a recipe almost everyone likes. It is close to being a candy, so don't be surprised, if you were expecting it to be like a regular cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
My 12 year old son submitted these as a 4H project at our local fair and received a blue ribbon. He didn't pay very close attention to how long it boiled and they set up just fine and tasted great. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Positively Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I love this recipe! I doubled the recipe, but followed the recipe exactly and they set perfectly after an hour in the fridge. Delicious cookies that disappeared! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States