No Bake Chocolate Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I read the recipe and something looked wrong. Here's what I did and it turned out yummy. Decrease the butter to 1/2 c. and I increased the cocoa and used tablespoons instead of teaspoons. With 1/2 c butter the ratio between butter, sugar and milk is what starts my regular fudge recipe. But you must decrease the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe is all wrong...don't use it...I have been making these cookies for 50 years...yes the recipe is that old...I made them for 4 H when I was 12..do the math...Anyway...Put in a 2 quart sauce pan --1/2 cup butter(one stick) 3 tablespoons cocoa, 2 cups sugar,1/2 cup evaporated milk..boil 3 minutes from a rolling boil..add 1 teaspoon vanilla, fold in 3 cups quick cooking oats and optional 1 cup coconut..drop by spoon fulls of desired size..onto wax paper and let cool..I make these at least once a week when my teen grandkids are in the area...A treat they beg for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
These were good and easy to make. I did decrease the butter to 1/2 cup and increased the cocoa powder to 5 TBSP instead of tsp. Thanks for the tip from another review...Would absolutely recommend these yummy treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I didn't care for these myself. They didn't come out for me...maybe I did something wrong, but they wouldn't harden, and I even left them overnight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe...only thing I changed was the cocoa, I prefer the "special dark" I think it gives it an enhanced chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Great recipe, I reduce the butter, and added 5 tablespoons. Glad I read the reviews, as this is one of my families favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I love this recipe. I have been using it for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Wish I'd read the reviews before going to the kitchen. Not a great texture to these cookies. Not sure what happened but the chocolate pooled around the bottom of the cookie, leaving a dry pile of oats & coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I won't make this version of no bake again. They formed together ok, but I could taste the milk, which made them taste sour. Maybe not enough choc. was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was the first time for me to make these. My mother made them a lot when I was young and I loved them. I'm definitely going to cut the amount of butter in half. Way too much buttery taste! Also, the cocoa mixture needs to boil more than 2 minutes. I followed the recipe according to these instructions and they were still gooey. I wish I had read the reviews first. My fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmccarty12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States