No Bake Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
Another pie recipe asking the cook to fit 10 pounds of stuff into a 5-pound bag... The filling amounts specified are way too much for a 9-in pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I made my own g. cracker crust and, based on other reviews, used a 10" inch pie plate. I mixed the cream cheese, vanilla, & sugar then added 1/2 the cool whip. I spread this over the bottom & up the sides of the pie crust to form a space to spoon the pie filling into. I used cherry pie filling. I mixed the remaining cool whip with a couple tablespoons of the cherry pie filling and spread that over the pie filling. My husband gave it an 8 and wants it again--said it was his kind of pie--Mom gave it a 4. She & I prefer a real cheesecake flavour. However I'm giving it 5 stars because it is quick & easy, tasted very good, hubby loved it, and it is very versatile--I'd like to try it with pineapple or my own fresh strawberry filling sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I really, really like this dessert and think makes an excellent autumn dessert with the apples. That said, there are many varieties that could be made. I have made this with both peaches and cherries. The first time I made this, I made it with a cooking group and there was some discussion about whether to use powdered sugar or reg. sugar. The reg. sugar gave the pie a grainy quality. The second time I made it, I used powdered sugar and used less, I think it was 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
excellent!!! make sure you use cool whip. add about 3 tbsp of cocoa for no bake chocolate cheese cake. there was almost a fight for the last piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
based on the few inexpensive ingredients and ease of prep, I'm rating this a 5. Although I prefer the 'real deal', this was great for the summer. I made my own crust using up those Danish butter cookies that I had a ton of leftover in the freezer from X-mas. This made a superb buttery shortbread crust. I beat the cream cheese w/sugar real well and there was no graininess. It also incorporated alot of air and the filling was very fluffy. Used French Vanilla cool-whip and added the vanilla and the zest of 1 orange. When the crust came out of the oven, I placed chocolate chips in the bottom and they melted a bit to press into the bottom of the crust and topped with the filling. The combo of orange and chocolate was incredible. I made a small cupcake size cake for me to rate and gave the pie to a neighbor boy. If using a store bought crust, I think there would be way too much filling for the shell, so you might as well make your own and put it in a larger pie plate. Very versatile recipe. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was a great no bake dessert!. I used a store bought shortbread crust that I spread with a little homemade strawberry freezerjam. Then filled it with the cream cheese mixture. To which I added lemon zest. Then I tpped it with more strawberry jam. I also used reduced fat cream cheese and light Cool Whip. The result was a wonderful cool summer treat that I will make again! Oh, with the extra that didn't fit in the crust I spread it on half a graham cracker, topped it with the other half and put it in the freezer. Like a little ice cream sandwich! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very light and fluffy. I cut back the sugar a touch because it seemed like it didn't need that much. Also there's more of a whipped cream taste than a cream cheese taste so if you like more of the cream cheese taste I would cut back on the whipped cream just a touch also. Very declicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Thank you for sharing this recipe. My Mom used to make it all of the time. Make sure you mix the cream cheese and sugar for 5 minutes plus. This will help work out the grainy texture. And if you want to put it in an 8 1/2 x 11 pan, it works out great! I mixed together 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs, 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup butter to make my crust. It fits perfectly! No worries about 5 lbs of stuff in a 10 lb bag! Woo Hoo!!! Oh, and it taste wonderful if you are looking for a lighter version of a cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JVRocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Though I wont compromise on the crust next time this still turned out beautifully. Two of my sister-in-laws were sitting on my deck waiting when we arrived home Sunday afternoon. I was distracted by talk as I made this and inadvertantly put the blueberry filling in first so I used only 1 package of cream cheese and whipped it as well as I could to make it light and increase the volume. It spread so easily; no one was the wiser and couldnt believe how delish it was for how easy it was to make... I didnt even have to write out the recipe for them! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
very, very good! I can't imagine how delicious this recipe would be if made as the recipe states, but to save quite a few calories, I used 1 package fat free cream cheese, and 1 package light cream cheese, 1/2 cup splenda instead of 1 cup of sugar (which was plenty sweet for me, but that's a personal preference), and light whipped topping. I used a store bought reduced fat graham cracker crust, which I wouldn't have done had I not been pressed for time, and let me tell you, this was wonderful!!! I may even use all fat free cream cheese next time, because with the sugar added you can't even tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutenfree mommy of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States