No Bake Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
We've made this twice in the last week and it is PERFECT! I made a couple changes due to availability (I live in the UK): I left out the pecan sandies and used approx 1 1/2 cups digestive biscuits crushed (no such thing as pecan sandies or graham crackers here). My husband doesn't like lemony cheesecake so I added just a smidgen of fresh squeezed lemon (for that freshness taste), and about a teaspoon pure vanilla extract. Besides that, we made it exactly as written (even with the sliced strawberries). DELICIOUS! I'll never make regular cheesecake again. The second time, we decided to play with it a little and used 2 8oz blocks cream cheese instead of the 1, but left everything else the same. It's even BETTER this way, in my opinion. It tastes more like cheesecake and has more of a cheesecake texture (although it was delicious the first time, it had more of a whipped cream flavor and less of that cream cheese flavor). We topped it with a bunch of randomly placed strawberry slices, fresh raspberries and blueberries. So pretty and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Who knew cheesecake could be this easy? I had just about given up on making my own cheesecake after battles with waterbaths, hours of baking and chilling but ending up with heavy, mushy cakes. I used 2 packages of cream cheese and 1 Tbsp of lemon juice at the suggestion of other reviewers. The combination of the graham cracker and pecan sandies crust was delicious and not overly sweet, but it did come out a little crumbly. Maybe more butter would hold it together better. Next time I think I'll add a little vanilla, but this recipe could be tweaked in so many ways. You can easily make it chocolate or marbled with cocoa powder, add a layer of chocolate chips or mix in fruit like thawed frozen raspberries. I would also like to try adding a flavor like kahlua, grand marnier or irish cream. Rather than freezing the cake with strawberries on top, I sliced them and sprinkled a little sugar on and let them rest so a syrup formed. They tasted great piled on top of the cheesecake with the syrup soaking into the crust. Yum! Can't wait to try some variations and share this one with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This recipe may be impossible to mess up. I ended up making a lot of changes based on the ingredient I had and other recipes I read, but it was still amazing. I used sour cream instead of whipping cream, this made it great without the sickening sweetness that is found in store bought cheesecake. Also, I used almond extract and tangarine juice instead of lemon (I don't like lemon flavored cheesecake.) It turned out perfect and my husband (aka. the pickiest eater in the world") loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
it was delicious. however, as this was my first cheesecake to make, i had to experiment a little. for anyone else doing this for the first time, be sure to make a thick crushed cracker layer at the bottom as it will hold the cheesecake better and it will be easier to cut. a WHOLE lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I didn't have whipping cream, so I replaced it with 1/2 cup of sour cream as suggested by another reviewer. It set up well and tasted great. Using Sandies in the crust is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This is a great recipe, I have been finding a good no bake cheesecake for a long time and finally I found one. The texture is smooth and rich. Somehow I suggest to cut down the lemon juice to 1t, cuz 2t is too lemony....feel like eating a lemon cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATILAICE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was just blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
brilliant! i cheated we/ ready made crust too and used strawberry pie filling over the top as well as fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
totally unreal, my complete lack of cooking skills even managed this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Kitty*
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Turned out really good for a quick easy no bake cheesecake. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States