Nitey Night Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Nitey Night cookies has a name, I think, that really says what the recipe is about. I especially like the recipe introduction or blurb. I liked the recipe. I feel like Nitey Night Cookies is a recipe that helped me signifcantly. Eggs are an important product to me and I have a love for the use of the egg. God bless the egg and I pray that the egg continues to be as good a staple to the human american's diet! I like the photo and I like the recipe the way it is written. I have my Nitey Nights in my oven right now. I am going to leave them in my oven overnight. I found the recipe to be easy and important and good for the cookie enthusiast. I really appreciate Nitey Night Cookies Recipe. I had trouble seperating my eggs which is a personal complication. My cookie habits are set in stone and so I, as a new cook, simply beat 2 whole eggs and still learned the lesson in the recipe, which I felt is the peaks of the blending. I learned an important and hard lesson about stiff peaks, as soft peaks are different when using my personal cookie mixing habits. I felt that I could blend and improve all at the same time, my cookie mixing abilities. I appreciate the Nitey Nights lesson on eggs and egg whites. I will try the recipe again someday, not deviating from the written example of seperating. I could use a lesson on seperating. I am not sure why seperating is important to cookies, and I learned something important while working on Nitey Night Cookies. I measured accurately my sugar! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Called 'Forgotten Cookies' or 'Meringue Kisses' my mom made these for me as a child. These were stacked to make 'birthday cake' for a Jewish friend with a birthday during Passover when she could have no leaven. My grown daughter makes these using mini chips and chopped nuts. She leaves out the chips for a sister who is allergic to chocolate and sometimes just with the chocolate chips for others. Preheat oven to 425 degrees and turn off immediately and don't make when the humidity is high. DO NOT GREASE a cookies sheet. Place on sheet lined with parchment or even brown paper bags. We even put paper directly on the baking rack since the heat is not on once the meringues are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
We called these Forgotten Cookies when I was growing up. My neighbor with four boys made them regularly since they took so little time to make. They're crunchy on the outside and a little chewy inside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very easy to make, yummy to eat! I did preheat the oven to 425 (and then turned it off) as one person suggested (I think 350 would not be hot enough). I added a few chocolate chips and also some white chocolate chips that I had on hand and no nuts. My mom made these for me when I was growing up - it was fun to taste them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Been Making these for over 50 years! Here's the scoop on meraguine. You MUST use fresh egg white. You have to add the sugar slowly and make SURE that it is fully incorporate. you MUST line the cookies sheet with parchment or a brown paper bag trimmed to fit. That helps in several ways by absorbing moisture,keeps bottoms from browning(remember the bottom of the oven is always warmer - heat RISES) and makes for easy removal(you peel the cookies off instead of scraping off with a spatula).And very important make sure you oven is at the proper temp. Not all ovens are accurate. Get an oven thermometer and test your oven then either get it adjusted professionally or adjust your temp setting according to the thermometer. and last but not least when making this type of cookie NEVER,EVER open the oven once the cookies are inside until the full time has elapsed. Now to the cookie! these are SO versatile you can do many many variations on these. Almost any extract or nuts, color of your choice from vibrant to the palest shades with food color, peanut butter chips, crushed or chopped candies, sprinkles or decors of your choice, shredded coconut, finely chopped dried fruits. Let you imagination go WILD. And for goodness sakes ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
OMG! I love these cookies and I was specifically looking for them! My family also used to make them when I was little and I know I can not mess these up! They are SO GOOD!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
YUMMMMM I remember my mom used to make these when I was little. She used to experiment with them and add peppermint extract, or raspberry extract etc.....Also, she used to cut a heavy paper grocery bag and line the cookie sheet with it and drop the batter on the paper bag....why? I don't know, maybe it prevents it from sticking or burning on the bottom...or, keeps the concistancy of the bottom of the cookie light and airy like the rest of the cookie. Any way you do this, they are delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIRIS12000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Sweet and crunchy, just like a meringue cookie should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My mom made these when I was a kid and we loved them. They're great for parties/showers because you can customize the color with food coloring. The melt in your mouth texture is awesome. It is critical to turn off the oven when you put the cookies in or they will brown, when they should be white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States