Nitey Night Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Been Making these for over 50 years! Here's the scoop on meraguine. You MUST use fresh egg white. You have to add the sugar slowly and make SURE that it is fully incorporate. you MUST line the cookies sheet with parchment or a brown paper bag trimmed to fit. That helps in several ways by absorbing moisture,keeps bottoms from browning(remember the bottom of the oven is always warmer - heat RISES) and makes for easy removal(you peel the cookies off instead of scraping off with a spatula).And very important make sure you oven is at the proper temp. Not all ovens are accurate. Get an oven thermometer and test your oven then either get it adjusted professionally or adjust your temp setting according to the thermometer. and last but not least when making this type of cookie NEVER,EVER open the oven once the cookies are inside until the full time has elapsed. Now to the cookie! these are SO versatile you can do many many variations on these. Almost any extract or nuts, color of your choice from vibrant to the palest shades with food color, peanut butter chips, crushed or chopped candies, sprinkles or decors of your choice, shredded coconut, finely chopped dried fruits. Let you imagination go WILD. And for goodness sakes ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
YUMMMMM I remember my mom used to make these when I was little. She used to experiment with them and add peppermint extract, or raspberry extract etc.....Also, she used to cut a heavy paper grocery bag and line the cookie sheet with it and drop the batter on the paper bag....why? I don't know, maybe it prevents it from sticking or burning on the bottom...or, keeps the concistancy of the bottom of the cookie light and airy like the rest of the cookie. Any way you do this, they are delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIRIS12000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
An absolute godsend! As a working dad these made my life so much easier! My daughters on a dairy free diet and there just wasn't enough hours in the day to whip up nice desserts for her. Now i've found these little beauties everyones happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My mom made these when I was a kid and we loved them. They're great for parties/showers because you can customize the color with food coloring. The melt in your mouth texture is awesome. It is critical to turn off the oven when you put the cookies in or they will brown, when they should be white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I didn't add the sugar gradually, I accidentally dumped it all in...so the texture was sort of weird and they actually didn't cook all the way through for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
OMG! I love these cookies and I was specifically looking for them! My family also used to make them when I was little and I know I can not mess these up! They are SO GOOD!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Sweet and crunchy, just like a meringue cookie should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
One thing that helps get a good airy, crisp meringue is to make sure egg whites are room temp, not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spfan49

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I followed the directions to the T. This morning it had a nice outside, but the inside and bottom were still wet and raw. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
my 7 yr old and i tried this. she loved the whole thing,while i thought the airy crisp texture was nice, i was disapointed w/ the flavor. too sweet 4 someone who loves sweets especially w/chocolate & nuts. the taste was not what i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States