Nitey Night Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Nitey Night cookies has a name, I think, that really says what the recipe is about. I especially like the recipe introduction or blurb. I liked the recipe. I feel like Nitey Night Cookies is a recipe that helped me signifcantly. Eggs are an important product to me and I have a love for the use of the egg. God bless the egg and I pray that the egg continues to be as good a staple to the human american's diet! I like the photo and I like the recipe the way it is written. I have my Nitey Nights in my oven right now. I am going to leave them in my oven overnight. I found the recipe to be easy and important and good for the cookie enthusiast. I really appreciate Nitey Night Cookies Recipe. I had trouble seperating my eggs which is a personal complication. My cookie habits are set in stone and so I, as a new cook, simply beat 2 whole eggs and still learned the lesson in the recipe, which I felt is the peaks of the blending. I learned an important and hard lesson about stiff peaks, as soft peaks are different when using my personal cookie mixing habits. I felt that I could blend and improve all at the same time, my cookie mixing abilities. I appreciate the Nitey Nights lesson on eggs and egg whites. I will try the recipe again someday, not deviating from the written example of seperating. I could use a lesson on seperating. I am not sure why seperating is important to cookies, and I learned something important while working on Nitey Night Cookies. I measured accurately my sugar! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Called 'Forgotten Cookies' or 'Meringue Kisses' my mom made these for me as a child. These were stacked to make 'birthday cake' for a Jewish friend with a birthday during Passover when she could have no leaven. My grown daughter makes these using mini chips and chopped nuts. She leaves out the chips for a sister who is allergic to chocolate and sometimes just with the chocolate chips for others. Preheat oven to 425 degrees and turn off immediately and don't make when the humidity is high. DO NOT GREASE a cookies sheet. Place on sheet lined with parchment or even brown paper bags. We even put paper directly on the baking rack since the heat is not on once the meringues are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Sweet and crunchy, just like a meringue cookie should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I followed the directions to the T. This morning it had a nice outside, but the inside and bottom were still wet and raw. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I didn't add the sugar gradually, I accidentally dumped it all in...so the texture was sort of weird and they actually didn't cook all the way through for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
So fun! And great with a cup of coffee. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlangston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My mom made these when I was a kid and we loved them. They're great for parties/showers because you can customize the color with food coloring. The melt in your mouth texture is awesome. It is critical to turn off the oven when you put the cookies in or they will brown, when they should be white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
my 7 yr old and i tried this. she loved the whole thing,while i thought the airy crisp texture was nice, i was disapointed w/ the flavor. too sweet 4 someone who loves sweets especially w/chocolate & nuts. the taste was not what i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
YUMMMMM I remember my mom used to make these when I was little. She used to experiment with them and add peppermint extract, or raspberry extract etc.....Also, she used to cut a heavy paper grocery bag and line the cookie sheet with it and drop the batter on the paper bag....why? I don't know, maybe it prevents it from sticking or burning on the bottom...or, keeps the concistancy of the bottom of the cookie light and airy like the rest of the cookie. Any way you do this, they are delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIRIS12000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
OMG! I love these cookies and I was specifically looking for them! My family also used to make them when I was little and I know I can not mess these up! They are SO GOOD!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States