Nitey Night Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I would rate more stars if mine came out right. Idk what I am doing wrong. after reading reviews, maybe it's because my fiancée and I used eggs right out of the fridge, or maybe it's because we didn't line the cookie sheet with paper, maybe it's that we used the recommended 350 degrees, or maybe it's because we over beat or under beat our eggs? All I know is that we tried these five times with different results each time, and none of them look anything like in the picture! I would really like to get these to work though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I've never made any type of meringue before and was very concerned that I had over whipped the egg whites, but the cookies turned out perfect! I lined the pan with parchment paper, used mint chocolate chips, and increased the oven temperature to 425. Thank you for sharing this simple, fun, and tasty treat Kirsten Chepeus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesskrystal4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These are very good and really sweet. It is a great way to use up egg whites after making a recipe that requires only the yolks. I used the paper bag liner on my pan too, worked great since I had no mess to clean up and the cookies popped right off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The potential seems delicious... I tried twice... I'm not sure if i'm beating the eggwhites too much or what but they just fell apart both times. the first I forgot the brown bag and may not have beat the eggwhites on high enough. SO the second time I made sure to use the highest speed and dropped them on the brown paper bag. Still no success. I'm just not sure how long it takes to soft peaks and then to stiff peaks. I promise I didn't open the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
One thing that helps get a good airy, crisp meringue is to make sure egg whites are room temp, not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spfan49

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
REally cool ute recipes and soo easy, yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poppet50c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very easy to make, yummy to eat! I did preheat the oven to 425 (and then turned it off) as one person suggested (I think 350 would not be hot enough). I added a few chocolate chips and also some white chocolate chips that I had on hand and no nuts. My mom made these for me when I was growing up - it was fun to taste them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I really love this recipe!! I've never made,or had a merange(sp),so I had no idea what to expect. These cookies are great! I used walnuts instead of pecan because that's what I had,along with choc chips. I gave 4 stars for lack of stating what the "prepared pan" was. Because of other reviews, I used an opened paper bag,and it worked awesome!! Also preheated 425 per other review. Thanks for recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Been Making these for over 50 years! Here's the scoop on meraguine. You MUST use fresh egg white. You have to add the sugar slowly and make SURE that it is fully incorporate. you MUST line the cookies sheet with parchment or a brown paper bag trimmed to fit. That helps in several ways by absorbing moisture,keeps bottoms from browning(remember the bottom of the oven is always warmer - heat RISES) and makes for easy removal(you peel the cookies off instead of scraping off with a spatula).And very important make sure you oven is at the proper temp. Not all ovens are accurate. Get an oven thermometer and test your oven then either get it adjusted professionally or adjust your temp setting according to the thermometer. and last but not least when making this type of cookie NEVER,EVER open the oven once the cookies are inside until the full time has elapsed. Now to the cookie! these are SO versatile you can do many many variations on these. Almost any extract or nuts, color of your choice from vibrant to the palest shades with food color, peanut butter chips, crushed or chopped candies, sprinkles or decors of your choice, shredded coconut, finely chopped dried fruits. Let you imagination go WILD. And for goodness sakes ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
We called these Forgotten Cookies when I was growing up. My neighbor with four boys made them regularly since they took so little time to make. They're crunchy on the outside and a little chewy inside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States