Nitey Night Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Very useful tip...use parchment paper...this is a soft meringue cookie. I mixed a few types of nuts based on what I had. But very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Followed exactly. My eggs were not fresh and I took them from the refrigerator and separated and then let get to room temperature. I used my Kitchen-Aide mixer at level 8 to get the soft peaks. I then slowly added the sugar still at level 8. Then added the pecans and the mini semi-chocolate chips at the stir level very briefly. perfect. Crunchy and airy. Will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
To be fair, the 3 star rating was in large part to my bad substitutions. I will try again with just the mini chips and nuts. Left out the nuts because of allergies and added flavored extracts to make them more interesting. Not a good substitution. Tried one batch with raspberry flavor & one with peppermint. The super sweet cookie paired with the flavoring was just too much. Would try the recipe again with 1/2 cup sugar, no extract and with the nuts. Also used chuck chocolate chips - needed dairy free chocolate and those were the only ones I could find. The chunks were way to big for this delicate cookie. Would go with the mini chips next time (and only 1/2 to 3/4 cup). Also, if you do want to experiment with extracts for flavoring, add it AFTER you incorporate all the sugar. If you add the extract to just the egg white, you won't get the to "stiff peak" consistency no matter how much you beat the batter. The cookies will still cook, they just will look like flat blobs rather than little cookie boulders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Easy recipe! I have been making these cookies for years as they are a family tradition. Just be sure to GRADUALLY add the sugar. Let it beat in completely before adding any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
use less sugar - a little too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patches
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
These are the cutest little bites! After reading reviews, I used these tips: egg whites should be at room temperature, add the sugar (only 1/2 cup) slowly, making sure to incorporate fully, line pan with parchment paper, preheat oven to 425 (instead of 350) before turning off and putting cookies in, and be sure NOT to peek until morning! I didn't add the nuts (allergy). This recipe made 24 cookies. Store in an airtight container. My DIL described these as a party in a cloud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made a double and added just less than 1/8 c flour to make it more sturdy. I used Andes mint chips and mini chocolate chips for flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
so sweet but addicting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This didn't work for me at all. They were thin and dripped into each other. They tasted all right, but the presentation was off-putting. Are they meant to be thin? There was no rise at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Easy & no mess. I used mini choc chips which worked real well. I used less sugar & may try only a 1/2 c next time. Took others suggestion to preheat oven hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States