Nita's Lamb, Green Beans and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
What a great way to prepare lamb. Quick, easy and delicious. I didn't have any tomato sauce so instead I substituted two 14.5 oz cans of Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes for the Tomato Sauce and Water and it turned out great. I served it with rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
We wanted to give this one ten stars! I used 2 cans of tomatoes and a can of beef stock instead of water, which gave it almost a stew consistency. I had mine over brown rice, but hubby and son ladeled it into bowls with the Light Wheat Rolls from this site. Fresh mint (out of the yard, since we had it) was the key. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This recipe is very easy to make and very delicious too! The only thing I would suggest is to adjust the amount of green beans to your own liking. Thanks for a new quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I used london broil instead of lamb and it was wonderful. It was served over rice and we tried it over egg noodles. Both were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharalyn
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
So delicious! I followed other reviewer suggestions and made a few changes... more meat (2 lbs), fewer beans (1 lb), and use stewed tomatoes (2 cans, replacing the tomato sauce and water). It was delicious served over quinoa, and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
My mother gave this 4 stars, my father gave it 3 and I gave it 5 - so I'll settle on 4. :) I thought it was delicious, but I used lamb stew meat that was on the bone and it wasn't nearly enough meat. Next time I'd search until I found boneless lamb stew meat. Very tasty dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
We really liked this recipe. I read all the reviews and ended up using 2 cans of diced tomatoes (seasoned w/ garlic & basil)in place of the tomato sauce, and 1 C. of beef stock in place of the water. Also, I used frozen green beans because I had those on hand. It turned out delicious... kind of a "stoup" as Rachel Ray would say... a cross between a stew and a soup. I served this w/ couscous... very yummy! Next time I think I'd serve some Feta cheese on the side to sprinkle on top... oh, and don't leave out the mint. It makes the dish (IMO) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used some lamb ribs I had plus almost a cup of fresh mint! I've never used mint in stew before and I'll always remember to use it from now on! The flavor is wonderful with a tbs of lemon juice right before the stew started to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I needed a different idea for dinner - and used this one! I used my slow cooker - on high for the first 2 hours - then on low for another 3. Regarding the ingredients: I added 1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes, 1/2 cup water, and 1/3 cup ruby port. I added lots of dried mint, Herbs de Provence, and a little sugar. I did brown the onion and meat - and used about 2 cups of French cut frozen green beans - came out just fantastic - will use again and again!!! For us - this dish must be served with warm, crusty bread!!! Melt in your mouth comfort food - great for our 12 degree night here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I'll add more mint next time - it was veery good in a pita pocket! I guess I wish it was less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States