Nita's Lamb, Green Beans and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This dish was a favorite at my Lebanese grandmas. I would add 2 cans of tomato sauce, 3/4 T cinnamon. 1 t allspice, juice of 1/2 lemon. The dish is served over rice. With these changes, you will definetly taste the wonderful flavor of the lamb, and the amount of green beans will make sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I'll add more mint next time - it was veery good in a pita pocket! I guess I wish it was less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I could not find lamb stew meat anywhere. I ended up buying a leg of lamb, cutting it off the bone, and freezing half of it. I threw all of the ingredients into the crock pot and cooked it on low all day. I added a handful of raisins (very yummy!)and served it as a soup with crusty bread and lemon, feta, and mint for topping. My real complaint is that the lamb was dry....but that's probably because I had to use leg of lamb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used some lamb ribs I had plus almost a cup of fresh mint! I've never used mint in stew before and I'll always remember to use it from now on! The flavor is wonderful with a tbs of lemon juice right before the stew started to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I needed a different idea for dinner - and used this one! I used my slow cooker - on high for the first 2 hours - then on low for another 3. Regarding the ingredients: I added 1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes, 1/2 cup water, and 1/3 cup ruby port. I added lots of dried mint, Herbs de Provence, and a little sugar. I did brown the onion and meat - and used about 2 cups of French cut frozen green beans - came out just fantastic - will use again and again!!! For us - this dish must be served with warm, crusty bread!!! Melt in your mouth comfort food - great for our 12 degree night here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was my first time cooking lamb. My husband and I both really liked this dish. I used soy beans instead of green beans. Quick, easy and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBobbi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juffair, Capital, Bahrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharalyn
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
So delicious! I followed other reviewer suggestions and made a few changes... more meat (2 lbs), fewer beans (1 lb), and use stewed tomatoes (2 cans, replacing the tomato sauce and water). It was delicious served over quinoa, and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
We really liked this recipe. I read all the reviews and ended up using 2 cans of diced tomatoes (seasoned w/ garlic & basil)in place of the tomato sauce, and 1 C. of beef stock in place of the water. Also, I used frozen green beans because I had those on hand. It turned out delicious... kind of a "stoup" as Rachel Ray would say... a cross between a stew and a soup. I served this w/ couscous... very yummy! Next time I think I'd serve some Feta cheese on the side to sprinkle on top... oh, and don't leave out the mint. It makes the dish (IMO) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
We wanted to give this one ten stars! I used 2 cans of tomatoes and a can of beef stock instead of water, which gave it almost a stew consistency. I had mine over brown rice, but hubby and son ladeled it into bowls with the Light Wheat Rolls from this site. Fresh mint (out of the yard, since we had it) was the key. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I used left over leg of lamb, cut up in cubes. I then added a can of tomatoes with jalepeno peppers and a can of beef broth and a can of drained green beans. I let it all simmer together for about 1/2 hour. I then served it over noodles. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States