Nina's Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious--a real keeper. My changes were as follows: 2 pounds of beef sirloin, 1 pound of hot Italian sausage (cut in bite-sized pieces--casing not removed), 1 large red onion, 4 cloves of garlic, no bell peppers, one 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes,one 15 ounce can tomato sauce, one can chicken broth, 1/4 cup honey, seasonings were the same except for the cayenne. I used 1/2 tablespoon. Just BEFORE adding the tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, honey and kidney beans I added the spices and cooked with the meats for several minutes. I let the entire mixture cook on low in my slow cooker for four hours. We added the cheddar cheese as well as sour cream to our bowls. I didn't add it to the chili mixture as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This wasn't bad, but rather spicy, and I cut the cayenne and chili powder down. I didn't add the sugar, but did put in the honey--I guess it's a good thing I did, although I was worried about making it sweet. It didn't. I didn't have sirloin so just left it out and halved the sausage. Not bad, but I'd cut the chili powder even more and leave out the cayenne if I made it again. Hubs stated it was too spicy for him, so we'd have to adjust. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 12, November '11. I only made a half batch of this and it made plenty for the two of us. I didn't have a can of kidney beans so I used mild chile beans. I fixed this one day, refrigerated it and we ate it the second day. It was nice and thick and had wonderful flavor, although it was a little too spicy for me. My husband loved it, and topped his with shredded cheese. I added sour cream to mine to help cut the heat a little. Overall a very good recipe and I can adjust the spices the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made this for Recipe Group and it was excellent! I followed the recipe except for the masa, which I could not find in my small town grocery, I also made mine in my slow cooker. (If you want thicker chili & don't have masa just crack the lid on the slow cooker for the last hour or so to thicken.) I browned and drained the meat then just tossed everything except the cheese, stirred that in just before serving. Tastes a lot like bbq sauce to me. This is a real crowd pleaser being that the recipe makes 6 qts, brought mine to my sister's house for football Sunday, everyone commented how tasty it was. Served it with mini corn muffins. I will make this again, maybe serve over brown rice (like our usual chili).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. I liked this chili. I used a chuck steak which worked out fine and was cheaper for the value. I didn’t use the sausage because I don’t like it and left out the green pepper using roasted yellow and orange ones. I only used half the cayenne and it was plenty spicy on the back of the throat. The sugar and the honey both made this a little too sweet for me. I always add a few tablespoons of sugar when I cook with tomatoes to take out the acid. I thought the cheese would make this a slimy mess, but it just dissolved right in there. I cooked stovetop as this sounded like what directions call for, even though it says she does it in the crockpot. I have never used masa before and was impressed with it as a thickener. I only made a half batch and got a quart and a half out of it. I’m not sure why it calls to add part of the ingredients after you get the meat browned and the onions and peppers soft and then add spices in one at a time. I would add the spices in with the meat and vegetables to flavor the meat, then add the rest in and cook it. All in all a nice chili! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Best chili recipe with hint of sweetness! I did make some changes: I left out the sausage, cayenne and beans. I added 1 bottle beer. Soooooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Awesome recipe. I tried it with and without the sausage, and prefer it without. I also eliminate the beans b/c it's TEXAS chili. I used 1/2 can of chicken broth instead of chicken buillon. I also cook it in a slow cooker on low for about 8-10 hours. I also add about 8 oz more of tomato. Best chili I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I liked this chili. I always add more spice than called for because I like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is a pretty awesome chili. Especially on the third straight rainy night. A little too spicy, but I just left out most of the cayenne..worked out perfectly. Even the kids liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
unbelievably awesome. great taste, great heat and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States