Nina's Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Awesome recipe. I tried it with and without the sausage, and prefer it without. I also eliminate the beans b/c it's TEXAS chili. I used 1/2 can of chicken broth instead of chicken buillon. I also cook it in a slow cooker on low for about 8-10 hours. I also add about 8 oz more of tomato. Best chili I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious--a real keeper. My changes were as follows: 2 pounds of beef sirloin, 1 pound of hot Italian sausage (cut in bite-sized pieces--casing not removed), 1 large red onion, 4 cloves of garlic, no bell peppers, one 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes,one 15 ounce can tomato sauce, one can chicken broth, 1/4 cup honey, seasonings were the same except for the cayenne. I used 1/2 tablespoon. Just BEFORE adding the tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, honey and kidney beans I added the spices and cooked with the meats for several minutes. I let the entire mixture cook on low in my slow cooker for four hours. We added the cheddar cheese as well as sour cream to our bowls. I didn't add it to the chili mixture as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Best chili recipe with hint of sweetness! I did make some changes: I left out the sausage, cayenne and beans. I added 1 bottle beer. Soooooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used hot Italian sausage and added some additional spices for depth and complexity, but overall, this was a great chili recipe. As others mentioned, I did not add beans, since this is TEXAS chili (and also because the reason I was looking for a Texas chili recipe is that I don't actually like beans all that much). It was great with the hot sausage, but I think it would be just as good with mild or sweet, as indicated in the recipe, and I'm pretty sure I'll try it that way in the future. This is, for me, the perfect chili to use as a base for all my variations. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe a lot, however 2 tablespoons of cayenne pepper was a bit spicy. Next time I will use 1 teaspoon. Use Top Sirloin! Cut into 1 inch cubes, they break down nicely during cooking time. I also omitted the beans. I put the 2 chicken bouillon cubes into ½ cup of boiling water to soften. I served over homemade cornbread and topped with a small dollop of sour cream and handful of shredded cheddar. Overall, this is a great Texas Chili and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
unbelievably awesome. great taste, great heat and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by harry sr
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
this is a great recipe, very pica and I am sure the sugar and the honey termpered that somewhat, although it was hot, IMO. My wife & daughter loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. I liked this chili. I used a chuck steak which worked out fine and was cheaper for the value. I didn’t use the sausage because I don’t like it and left out the green pepper using roasted yellow and orange ones. I only used half the cayenne and it was plenty spicy on the back of the throat. The sugar and the honey both made this a little too sweet for me. I always add a few tablespoons of sugar when I cook with tomatoes to take out the acid. I thought the cheese would make this a slimy mess, but it just dissolved right in there. I cooked stovetop as this sounded like what directions call for, even though it says she does it in the crockpot. I have never used masa before and was impressed with it as a thickener. I only made a half batch and got a quart and a half out of it. I’m not sure why it calls to add part of the ingredients after you get the meat browned and the onions and peppers soft and then add spices in one at a time. I would add the spices in with the meat and vegetables to flavor the meat, then add the rest in and cook it. All in all a nice chili! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is a pretty awesome chili. Especially on the third straight rainy night. A little too spicy, but I just left out most of the cayenne..worked out perfectly. Even the kids liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I liked this chili. I always add more spice than called for because I like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States