Nikujaga (Japanese-style meat and potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
To those wondering about the 1/4 lb of beef: that MIGHT be the intended measurement. Nikujaga is not meant to be a hearty beef stew. Rather, the bulk of the dish is supposed to be the potatoes, while the beef is there merely to flavor the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clari8402
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great recipe and not hard, even for someone like me who never cooks. The taste is really good, but i agree with everyone else about the measurements. You need at least a 1lb of beef for this. Also, I threw in carrots since i had them around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
After I cook this dish our Japanese foreign exchange student adds more sugar and soy sauce to taste (Kamada brand is the best!) Our family loves this recipe very much and it is even better w/several TBS more sugar and a few shakes more soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was yummy but too salty! Next time i will definitely cut down on the soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I loved this dish! I really wanted something different, and I got it! I increased the amount of beef to one pound (yay meat!) and I did use beer instead of the sake but it still came out great. I made my own Hoshi-Shiitake Dashi (another Hinata recipe). My boyfriend asked for it again, so it's a winner. Thanks Hinata!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was very good. I loved the meat with the potatoes and onion. I wasn't able to find the dashi or sake, so I used low sodium beef broth and dry white cooking wine instead, and I forgot to add the peas. It was very good, if a bit salty (but that's from the soy sauce and the cooking wine that I didn't notice was loaded in salt until afterwards). I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I had to substitute white wine for the sake and beef broth for the dashi, but this recipe was really good. Maybe next time I will be able to find the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
So tasty! I have a Japanese foreign exchange student whose been missing the food from home. He loved this! So did everyone else who got to taste it. I upped the meat to 1.25 lb. otherwise, just as planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Overall it was pretty good but the measurements were way off. HAS to be a typo. 1/4lb of meat to serve 4??? I used a lil over 1lb and it even then it was swimming in the broth. After following the recipe, i added extra soy and sugar only because i thought the flavor was a little on the lite side. Overall good.** If you cant find dashi, beef broth/stock works just fine. My japanese mom happen to have some so i was able to get some from her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
really, really good. I love Japanese dish's and this one is know one of my favorites. thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States