Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was simply the best! I made it for guests last night and it was a rave. My butcher (a first class cook) strongly advised me to use beef flap steak, which is already cut pretty thinly and has a lot more flavor. The only other change I made was to add 2-3 whole spinach leaves, blanched, to each roll. A bit more nutrition without affecting the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This recipe was a hit! The sage really adds something special. However, I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that the times were a bit off. I think the stated times would work if you pan-seared the side of the steak flat before rolling... but the tradeoff there is that the steak shrinks a bit, and I don't necessarily think that is preferable. So, I say all that to say that I left the rolls in the oven for 15-18 minutes, turning twice. And, although I'm sure that most of you experts will do this naturally, I felt lucky that someone suggested to me that I soak the toothpicks first so they did not burn. I also used the 3-4 toothpicks, evenly spaced, in each roll so that I could easily cut them and put them on trays to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Floyd, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Great recipe! I couldn't find skirt steak at our grocery store, so I also substituted top sirloin steak (thin sliced). Tasty, epecially with the crispy sauted fresh sage on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
It was very good, however the steak itself did somewhat lack taste. Next time I may try to marinate the steaks (not quite sure in what yet) before rolling them up. The overall flavor was great though, very unique. I will for sure make it again. Also, the cooking time was a bit off.. we had ours in for over 15 minutes and it was still a bit rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodObsessedMom
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I was first a little hesitant to make this dish because I thought 4 ingredients meant bland taste. But not so at all! I couldn't find prosciutto so I ended up using Canadian Bacon and it was amazing! The fresh sage adds so much depth of flavor to the dish. (And the fried leftover sage was a great garnish.) I used round steaks and pounded them to the appropriate thickness and they turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was absolutely delicious!!! I did sprinkle the beef with oregano, basil, and some onion powder before rolling up. Thanx for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Yummy! I used thinly sliced sirloin which I seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning before assembling. I baked mine for about 10 minutes and they were perfectly medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I thought this recipe was excellent. I thought it took a litle longer in the oven though. I served it with roasted potatoes and spinach. great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
It is a very quick and easy recipe to make. I made the mistake of not pounding the meet enough with the meet clever, but the meal was still great. I had sautéed asparagus in butter and garlic as a side dish. We had a Merlot to drink, and I think that they went good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This recipe is great! It only took about 30-40 minutes total to make and was a big hit. I substituted Top Sirloin for the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States