Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Everybody in the family liked this. Next time I make it though I will make each piece so that when wrapped up it only goes around once. Because my pieces ended up being wrapped up about 2 1/2 times. And so it took about half an hour in the oven. Also, I would use only one piece of prociutto per serving because I thought it was just alittle too salty . I used mozzerella instead but I think any cheese would be good. I agree with other reviewers that it has a unique taste but a very good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
A versatile recipe one can use pork or veal instead of beef if you can cut chicken breast very finely and very carefully roll out its also another variation.try with other cheeses.Italian Talleggio is superb when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Did not like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodObsessedMom
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I was first a little hesitant to make this dish because I thought 4 ingredients meant bland taste. But not so at all! I couldn't find prosciutto so I ended up using Canadian Bacon and it was amazing! The fresh sage adds so much depth of flavor to the dish. (And the fried leftover sage was a great garnish.) I used round steaks and pounded them to the appropriate thickness and they turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This recipe was a hit! The sage really adds something special. However, I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that the times were a bit off. I think the stated times would work if you pan-seared the side of the steak flat before rolling... but the tradeoff there is that the steak shrinks a bit, and I don't necessarily think that is preferable. So, I say all that to say that I left the rolls in the oven for 15-18 minutes, turning twice. And, although I'm sure that most of you experts will do this naturally, I felt lucky that someone suggested to me that I soak the toothpicks first so they did not burn. I also used the 3-4 toothpicks, evenly spaced, in each roll so that I could easily cut them and put them on trays to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Floyd, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
AWESOME! My grocer's skirt steak looked a little iffy, so I just used top round and pounded it thin using a meat tenderizer. As I am a south-Louisiana girl, I also added some seasoning to the steaks before searing. Otherwise, this recipe is perfect just as it is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslandry3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
My family loves this recipe, and I make it every time we have company over for dinner now. The only change I made was to roll in some fresh spinach leaves. I am making it right now for my in-laws, and tonight I am going to serve some sauteed mushrooms and salad on the side. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipe turned out great. I read that some users had issues with the meat lacking in flavor so I used a marsala marinade on the flank steak prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
We made this for our gourmet club. It was excellent. Simple to make but with a lot of taste. We did not stray from the recipe at all, and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spitfire
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I was surprised at how much I loved the fresh sage in this dish. It does mellow out when cooking. I could only find skirt steak and with it being so muscular I couldn't pound it into submission so I butterflied 1/2" thick strips and got the perfect size. It's amazing how much flavor the proscuitto gives every bite. It's one of those dishes that makes you look like a pro in the kitchen. Definitely comany-worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spitfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States