Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I needed slightly more than 8-10 minutes to cook. I like my food still mooing but my guests like theirs actually cooked. Still, this was a HUGE hit. Absolutely delicious, as were the leftovers. Which there were TONS of. I'm not quite sure how you reached 6 as a serving size for those ingredients but we had way more left over than was actually eaten. Also, the meal was very expensive to make. High class meat, expensive steak...worth it, but only for very special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
So good and pretty easy too! We used a only one slice of the proscuitto as some of the other reviewers recommended which was the perfect amount of salt. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very good recipe. The only thing I did different was add a little garlic powder when seasoning. Will fix again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This dish was decent, though I don't think I will be making it again. My boyfriend and I found it pretty salty. We decided to call it "Salt-in-Boca" instead of Saltimbocca because that's what it was! If I were to do it again I would definitely only use one slice of prociutto per roll. The crispy sage leaves added a nice touch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was so tasty. Unfortunately I overcooked it a bit and will watch it more closely next time. The combination of flavors really works. Although I had my doubts about the fresh sage...I thought it was going to be too strong - but it was delicious. I scrimped a bit on the prosciutto and I shouldn't have, be sure to use the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
WOW, I made this for a dinner last night and it was AMAZING, absoluetely no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnandKim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
OMG, yum! I used the suggestion of adding basil, oregano, and garlic powder to the inside of the meat. I also used havarti, just because I really like havarti. Wow, this was good. And I did cook it for about 20 minutes. Definitely going in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
My provolone cheese all melted out while in the oven. Otherwise, this was an OK dish. My picky husband and 6 year old daughter both ate it up. Thanks for the recipe I am definately going to try it again and hopefully keep the provolone in this time. ***Second review: I really didn't like the sage flavor and can't find prosciutto. These were my changes that made it a 5 star meal. Fried 4 pieces of bacon in a skillet, sprinkled fresh chopped rosemary and fresh cracked pepper on the steak, added provolone then bacon. I left the steak whole and rolled it up and secured with toothpicks. Seared in the skillet with the bacon drippings, put it in the oven until done. This was so much better to me. The rosemary really complemented the taste of the steak, cheese and bacon much better than sage. Oh, and my provolone didn't melt out this time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grangeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Walker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I have been making my version of this for several years. I use swiss, fresh spinach and shaved VA ham from the deli. I roll them up, sprinkle with McCormick's grill seasoning & then freeze till almost frozen and then slice thinly & pan fry the pinwheels till they are done and serve on top of prepared angle hair pasta and my most favorite side of roasted green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linwood, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is a very good recipe but is a spin off of the German "Rouladen". No plagiarism please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Science

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States