Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was very good. I used flank steak as well, and pounded it very thin. Also, I added spinach, and sun dried tomatoes. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These were alright. I used some thin top round steaks that were probably 1/4" thick. They were about 12" by 5" and I cut them in half to make 6" steaks (not sure what a 4oz. piece of meat looks like). I marinated them in a london broil marinade that I got off this site. This made them very flavorful. I used canadian bacon instead of proscuitto (sp?), and ground sage instead of fresh. I only had enuf Provolone for half, so used mozzerella for the other half. My only gripe is that the cheese melted out of them, but that was probably my fault cuz I cooked them 17 min's in the oven after browning them. They shrunk a LOT too. I would recommend only cooking 10 or 12 min's. They'll probably be a little pink, but mine were too done. If you don't like rare to pink meat, I wouldn't make this. All in all, it was just ok, too much work. Don't think i'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Delicious! The only problem was I didn't make enough. Unfortunately I ouldn't find fresh sage or provolone, so I substituted for dried sage and swiss cheese. My only mistake was not cutting off the bit of fat on the edge of my beef. I will be making this again on Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
A bit too much sage for my taste but still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This recipe sounded easy to prepare, but actually takes more than it sounds. All in all, I thought the steak was bland but then I had to substitute many ingredients so it could be my fault. I used dried sage instead of fresh, and top sirloin instead of skirt. However, the cheese didn't add any flavor what so ever, as well as the prosciutto. I may try again, this time with some thinner cuts which cook faster- hence retain more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very good recipe,just make sure your steak is thin enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOHN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These tasted really good, even though I'm not a huge fan of sage. I pounded the meat very thin, and it came out a little overdone. Next time I will leave the meat a bit thicker or cook it for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME! I can't get skirt steak so I purchased Flank Steak and I don't care too much for sage so I used garlic powder, onion powder and pepper. I will fix this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was wonderful! It truly only took 30 minutes from pounding the steaks out to pulling them out of the oven! I used venison steaks, and could not find fresh sage leaves, so used rubbed sage instead, and beat it into the meat. My husband loved it! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngiParker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States