Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
This had a very good flavor combination! I read the reviews, and decided to add a little sauteed garlic to the insides of the steaks before rolling them with all the good stuff. Make sure you get a nice sear on the outsides, and everything else will take care of itself. For us, the cooking time was off as well...I'm not sure if it is my oven or not, but I love rare, and even 15 minutes was a little too rare...For the gf, I had to cook these 25 minutes to get a medium result. Good eatin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Awesome! I bought flank steak at Safeway and they put it through the tenderizer for me! I also added 10 minutes to the cooking time (personal preference) and spinach for added nutrition. I have never made anything so "gourmet". Thanks for posting this great EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adunnavant
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was perfect. hubby gave it a 5. He can't imagine anything better. I used skirt steak, sprinkled it with onion powder and pepper after I pounded it(put in refrig for several hours). I put one slice of proscuitto first, then one sage leaf and one piece of cheese, about one inch by 3, crumbled. Rolled up, used one toothpick. Browned on all sides and then put in oven for 10 minutes. Let rest 10 minutes. Did not slice. cooked a bunch of sage in pan (used cast iron skillet) and pour everything on top of resting rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
2nd time making it and it was great! i gave the sage a quick toss in some olive oil and crushed garlic before rolling it with comte cheese, because last time i made them i went on the rare side, and the leaves were a little to "sagie" for my taste. served it with mashed celery root, and mushroom onion gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Next Best Sin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a "gourmet" recipe! Loved it. The steaks turned out tender and the flavor was as promised. I seared both sides of the steak before rolling and the cooking time worked for me, I like steak a little rare. I did not use toothpicks, just rolled and put in the pan, but cooking string would also work with no fear of burning. The taste is very distinctive, so it doesn't suprise me that some people don't care for it. It would be a risk at a dinner party, but it's great for a restaurant quality meal at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My boyfriend liked this, so I'm going to try making this one more time, but I was disappointed with the first attempt. Next time I'm going to use a different cut of meat, up the cooking time and track down fresh sage (my local grocer only had ground sage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Rose, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe was very good. I made it for my husband on valentines day. The only thing was I had to cook it for a extra 10 minutes. It was too raw for our liking. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the same recipe that Michael Chiarello does on Food Network. Fantastic recipe. I didn't have sage so I just replaced it with basil which I love even more and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe was really great. Served it wil mashed potatoes and french cut string beans and it was delicious. I can say that it didn't reheat as well, so make just enough to eat that evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was very good. I used flank steak as well, and pounded it very thin. Also, I added spinach, and sun dried tomatoes. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States