Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was such an easy and fast dish to prepare. My husband looked for fresh sage leaves in the store but couldn't find any, so I used dried sage but went sparingly (sprinkled lightly) since I wasn't sure how much would be a good substitute. I should have been fairly generous though as these were a bit bland though. A good sprinkle of Season-All would help too. I used a cut of round steak that was super thin labeled "milanesa" on the package. This was a perfect cut for this recipe. Thanks Nikki, this made a nice dinner and seemed fancy but really wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
This had a very good flavor combination! I read the reviews, and decided to add a little sauteed garlic to the insides of the steaks before rolling them with all the good stuff. Make sure you get a nice sear on the outsides, and everything else will take care of itself. For us, the cooking time was off as well...I'm not sure if it is my oven or not, but I love rare, and even 15 minutes was a little too rare...For the gf, I had to cook these 25 minutes to get a medium result. Good eatin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Awesome! I bought flank steak at Safeway and they put it through the tenderizer for me! I also added 10 minutes to the cooking time (personal preference) and spinach for added nutrition. I have never made anything so "gourmet". Thanks for posting this great EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adunnavant
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was perfect. hubby gave it a 5. He can't imagine anything better. I used skirt steak, sprinkled it with onion powder and pepper after I pounded it(put in refrig for several hours). I put one slice of proscuitto first, then one sage leaf and one piece of cheese, about one inch by 3, crumbled. Rolled up, used one toothpick. Browned on all sides and then put in oven for 10 minutes. Let rest 10 minutes. Did not slice. cooked a bunch of sage in pan (used cast iron skillet) and pour everything on top of resting rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
2nd time making it and it was great! i gave the sage a quick toss in some olive oil and crushed garlic before rolling it with comte cheese, because last time i made them i went on the rare side, and the leaves were a little to "sagie" for my taste. served it with mashed celery root, and mushroom onion gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brendan Gulliksen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a "gourmet" recipe! Loved it. The steaks turned out tender and the flavor was as promised. I seared both sides of the steak before rolling and the cooking time worked for me, I like steak a little rare. I did not use toothpicks, just rolled and put in the pan, but cooking string would also work with no fear of burning. The taste is very distinctive, so it doesn't suprise me that some people don't care for it. It would be a risk at a dinner party, but it's great for a restaurant quality meal at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My boyfriend liked this, so I'm going to try making this one more time, but I was disappointed with the first attempt. Next time I'm going to use a different cut of meat, up the cooking time and track down fresh sage (my local grocer only had ground sage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Rose, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe was very good. I made it for my husband on valentines day. The only thing was I had to cook it for a extra 10 minutes. It was too raw for our liking. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the same recipe that Michael Chiarello does on Food Network. Fantastic recipe. I didn't have sage so I just replaced it with basil which I love even more and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe was really great. Served it wil mashed potatoes and french cut string beans and it was delicious. I can say that it didn't reheat as well, so make just enough to eat that evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States