Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was very good and very easy too! I had most of the ingredients on hand and I love using my crock pot as often as possible! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Love this soup! I made a few changes! I used olive oil instead of butter and I added leeks =) Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was delicious! I used half the red pepper, no celery, 1/2 teaspoon all-spice, and about 2 cups of cheddar... other than that everything else was the same. Served it with some really soft cheese bread... the perfect Sunday night cold weekend meal! My husband is texting me asking if there's leftovers... so I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I make this soup exactly as is, except I do everything on the stovetop instead of the microwave/crockpot. I also use twice the amount of potatoes, and mash 1/2 of them before adding to the soup to create a thicker broth. I sometimes add fresh steamed broccoli at the end as well. My husband and I thoroughly enjoy this soup on a weekly basis during the winter months. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I left out the celery salt & red pepper; added in diced celery and cooked it in the butter w/ the garlic/onion. I also cooked all ingredients (except potatoes) in a large pan on the stove together before adding them to the potatoes in the crockpot. This made it really easy to mix the herbs, cheeses, etc. prior to trying to blend with the potato. I will absolutely double this recipe next time, it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
It has potential but is waaay to salty and hot as is. I LOVE salt, but this was overkill. I would definitely cut the seasoned and celery salts in half next time. Also, I only used 3/4tsp of red pepper flakes as other reviewers suggested cutting back significantly. This was still too hot for our liking, so I would go with 1/2tsp next time. I didn't find the recipe had much flavour overall, but I'm guessing the salt overwhelmed the other flavours. I boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving them. Also, I did Step 3 on the stove instead of in the slowcooker as a few other people suggested -- it thicked well this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Lol! Logically 1 tbs of pepper flakes is wrong, and anyone who thought 1 tbs is correct is an idiot. I do 3-4 shakes and it comes out perfect. Use your brain people. This is the only potato soup I use and everyone loves it. When my parents come over they pay me to make this for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal_roy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I think this recipe is great just as it is. I did adjust a couple things to my taste but it is an awesome recipe. I don't think people should give lower rating because their tastes are different. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I doubled this recipe. I threw my potatoes in the crockpot with the onion and garlic and covered it with chicken broth instead of milk. I did not need the butter. When the potatoes were done, I did a quick mash with my potato masher, then I added in the bacon, one cup of fat free evaporated milk (my soup was thick enough already so I did not need the flour), a quarter cup of sour cream, the cheese, and a pinch of salt. After tasting it, I added my own personal touches (I sauteed some green onion with a mess of minced garlic in a little butter and threw that in with chives, hot pepper sauce, onion/garlic powder). Good recipe for soup that I could bend a bit and make more personal to me, lighter so I could enjoy without a lot of guilt, nevermind it was super cheap to make both on the food budget AND heating bill. This'll be lunch for the next couple days for my husband and I and we'll both enjoy this a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Fabulous! This will definitely become a staple in our household. I replaced one cup of the milk with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States