Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Easy and quick in the crockpot, with precooking the potatoes in the microwave. Changes I made were adding one more potato, more onion, about a cup less milk, 2 stalks of diced celery, and one can of low sodium chicken broth. I also added less seasoned salt, using about 1 T of Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipotle, along with celery seed instead of celery salt. Near the end of cooking, I also added in fresh broccoli. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I read most other's reviews and modified myself. I only used 1/4 tsp red peppers and it was perfect. I also sauteed the onions and garlic in a pot , using the same pot I had used to brown the bacon (minus the grease, of course). I decreased the salt and added several whole stalks of celery for flavor (with leaves) while cooking and removed before serving. I also used some low sodium chicken broth, mixing in during the cook time to prevent it from getting too thick. I used one more potatoe and more onion. Topped with bacon, shredded cheddar and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I only changed the crushed red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon because I was serving it to young kids and didn't want it to be too spicy. I also let the ingredients simmer in a pot on the stove instead of the crock pot until it thickened because the crock pot wouldn't simmer fast enough. Then I just transferred it over. Great flavor with the bacon and cheese! I will double the recipe next time to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My favorite potato soup to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a wonderful potatoe soup! It is spicy, so if you don't like spicy food, adjust the red pepper...we loved the recipe as stated and brought it to a pot luck and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I love this recipe and the soup was excellent. I used fat free cheese, sour cream and milk to cut fat content and it was still tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great flavor, Cut the Red Pepper down by 1/2 because my daughter dont like real spicy food and it had a bit of a kick for her. I personally loved it however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgewever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
FANTASTIC! I added 2 more potatoes, more cheddar cheese, and more bacon. Omitted celery salt as I didn't have any. Substituted red pepper flakes for 1/2 tsp chili powder. Will be my go-to recipe for potato soup from now on. Was super easy, flavorful, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a great easy recipe. I have also prepared this on the stove and simmer for 45 min when pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Fabulous! This will definitely become a staple in our household. I replaced one cup of the milk with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States