Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
holy moly...could 1 tbsp of hot pepper be wrong??? I made this for my daughter but it is waaayyy to spicy....even after adding 1/2 cup sugar and more potatos. What can I do to salvage it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Easy and quick in the crockpot, with precooking the potatoes in the microwave. Changes I made were adding one more potato, more onion, about a cup less milk, 2 stalks of diced celery, and one can of low sodium chicken broth. I also added less seasoned salt, using about 1 T of Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipotle, along with celery seed instead of celery salt. Near the end of cooking, I also added in fresh broccoli. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Unfortunately I found this recipe to be way too salty, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used fresh celery instead of celery salt and saved my bacon for topping instead of cooking it in the soup. This is a very tasty and easy potato soup and would get a 5 except as written there is too much salt. I cut WAY back and it was still pretty salty. The addition of Parmesan was nice and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
LOVE this recipe! I only changed the crushed red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon because I was serving it to young kids and didn't want it to be too spicy. I also let the ingredients simmer in a pot on the stove instead of the crock pot until it thickened because the crock pot wouldn't simmer fast enough. Then I just transferred it over. Great flavor with the bacon and cheese! I will double the recipe next time to have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great recipe...but YES- the crushed red pepper is all WRONG. Do not use 1tbsp...way too spicy for our family. Our water bill will be high next month. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My favorite potato soup to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
A tasty, spicy soup, but (I suppose this is somehow my fault) I could NOT get it to thicken! Anyone else have this trouble? I added extra flour too, but still nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningRoz1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a wonderful potatoe soup! It is spicy, so if you don't like spicy food, adjust the red pepper...we loved the recipe as stated and brought it to a pot luck and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
The final product tasted great! But there were two problems with the recipe that really affected my rating: 1. The prep time either needs to be changed 1 hour or instead of using the crockpot to make the base, do it in a pot on the stove and then transfer to the crockpot. I started in the crockpot, saw that it was going to take more like 1-1.5 hours and moved over to the stove. Followed the recipe exactly and then transferred back to the crockpot before adding the potatos, etc. 2. This is just an opinion issue really, but 1 T of crushed red pepper flakes made for a REALLY spicy potato soup. Next time (and I will make it again) I will probably cut that in half. All things considered, it is a very tasty and simple potato soup and I love how it starts carmelizing around the edges of the crockpot as it cooks - SO yummy and pretty! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States