Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
It has potential but is waaay to salty and hot as is. I LOVE salt, but this was overkill. I would definitely cut the seasoned and celery salts in half next time. Also, I only used 3/4tsp of red pepper flakes as other reviewers suggested cutting back significantly. This was still too hot for our liking, so I would go with 1/2tsp next time. I didn't find the recipe had much flavour overall, but I'm guessing the salt overwhelmed the other flavours. I boiled the potatoes instead of microwaving them. Also, I did Step 3 on the stove instead of in the slowcooker as a few other people suggested -- it thicked well this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Lol! Logically 1 tbs of pepper flakes is wrong, and anyone who thought 1 tbs is correct is an idiot. I do 3-4 shakes and it comes out perfect. Use your brain people. This is the only potato soup I use and everyone loves it. When my parents come over they pay me to make this for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal_roy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I think this recipe is great just as it is. I did adjust a couple things to my taste but it is an awesome recipe. I don't think people should give lower rating because their tastes are different. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I doubled this recipe. I threw my potatoes in the crockpot with the onion and garlic and covered it with chicken broth instead of milk. I did not need the butter. When the potatoes were done, I did a quick mash with my potato masher, then I added in the bacon, one cup of fat free evaporated milk (my soup was thick enough already so I did not need the flour), a quarter cup of sour cream, the cheese, and a pinch of salt. After tasting it, I added my own personal touches (I sauteed some green onion with a mess of minced garlic in a little butter and threw that in with chives, hot pepper sauce, onion/garlic powder). Good recipe for soup that I could bend a bit and make more personal to me, lighter so I could enjoy without a lot of guilt, nevermind it was super cheap to make both on the food budget AND heating bill. This'll be lunch for the next couple days for my husband and I and we'll both enjoy this a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Fabulous! This will definitely become a staple in our household. I replaced one cup of the milk with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
It calls for too much salt, and I love spicy hot but a tablespoon of red pepper flakes make this taste awful. I love to cook, and to get creative but i will never make this again. I do not recommend this to anyone!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a great easy recipe. I have also prepared this on the stove and simmer for 45 min when pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
FANTASTIC! I added 2 more potatoes, more cheddar cheese, and more bacon. Omitted celery salt as I didn't have any. Substituted red pepper flakes for 1/2 tsp chili powder. Will be my go-to recipe for potato soup from now on. Was super easy, flavorful, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I love this receipt, its sooo popular in my house i made it twice this week. i roasted my potatoes in the oven for an hour and added a cup of chicken broth for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arms61200

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States