Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
The favor was wonderful if it had far less red pepper, it was like trying to eat wasabi... Going to try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
the soup was just outstanding everybody loved it i made this on a cold winter night for dinner and it has been a request quite often on chilly nights this soup not only taste great But every now and then I'll add crab or lobster have done shrimp with it too... thanks so much for sharing this one's a keeper in this family.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I had a hard time with the texture. I struggle with cooking in general but even though I followed the recipe, it separated. The flavor was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good. Followed others advice and cooked all the ingredients on the stove until thick then added to the crock pot. I would leave out the pepper flakes next time, adding only 1/2 of the pepper flakes made it too spicy for some family members. I used fresh celery and cooked them with the onions and garlic, I used 4 ribs which was good. I also added about a cup and 1/2 of fresh, steamed broccoli to the soup, it made for a nice full soup. Kids eat it so it much not have been too bad. I think you could reduce the cheese and butter and still have a pretty thick soup. I used 1/2% milk and it was very thick, I even thinned it with the water from the microwave steamer that I used to cook the broccoli because it seemed a little too thick even before cooking in the crock pot. Since all the ingredients are cooked before hand I put the crock pot on High and only had about 1.5 hours to cook the soup before we eat and it did not taste like it needed any more cooking time but I think it could have handled more time in the crock pot if you had to leave it a while. I will make this again just without the pepper flakes and I might try to cut down on the fat a little next time by cutting the butter and the cheese. Doug F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krm4h
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I am not very gifted in the kitchen but even I was able to successfully create this dish. I do plan on making it again with a few changes: 1) As other reviewers suggested, start out the soup base on the stove and transfer to the crock pot. Otherwise it will take forever to simmer. I ended up giving up and continuing with the recipe with no simmering. 2) Cut the salt content in half next time. The first thing my boyfriend said after his first bite was "Hot much salt is in this?" Still tasty, as I am a salt lover, but may reduce a bit for all palates. 3) I omitted the onion and garlic and only added a pinch of red pepper flakes - perfect! Prepared the dish otherwise as directed and served with bread. Great meal for a cold night in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I did this soup up with a few changes myself, I made a triple batch and I added one full package of Hickory Smoked Bacon(crispy) instead of 3 piece's.One lb of butter, 8 large red potatoes unpeeled and not fully cooked, a little crunch in them, 3 large cooking onions, 1 full buld of garlic cloves, 6 cups of milk total, 2.5 cups of sour cream, 1.5 cups of cheddar cheese, I used 1 cup of fresh grated Parmesan cheese, I also used Green onions to top off when served. This a excellent. Hope you try it. 2 thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Minden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Good recipe. Added celery and carrots steamed in the microwave. Also like many other reviewers, I did the prep work on the stove before putting it in the Crock Pot. Cut down on the red pepper and the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris k
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A little too spicy with all that red pepper. I adjusted the amount of red pepper and the amount of seasoned salt. I also added more red potatoes. It turned out excellent with these adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this yesterday. It took longer than I though it would. I should have cut back on the peppers a little bit more. It was good but not as creamy as I would have liked. Not so sure I like the sour cream either. One other recipe I tried use cream cheese, I think I might try that the next time. Judyb in MO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Beaty

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States