Niki's Famous Crawfish Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
great! i like it. keep on with the great recipe's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
LOVE IT!!!! BEING FROM SOUTH MISSISSIPPI I COOK WITH ALOT OF SEAFOOD. THIS DIP WAS PERFECT. I BROUGHT IT TO A PARTY AND ALMOST EVERYONE ASKED FOR THE RECIPE. I ADDED A BIT MORE OLD BAY AND MORE CRAB BOIL IN MINE. OH! THIS WOULD BE WONDERFUL OVER A BAKED POTATO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearlington, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is my new favorite dip - and it's homemade! It's exceptional. I added a bay leaf (and took it out before serving), and some Louisiana Hot sauce as well as red pepper flakes to give it a more cajun zing. This dip is by far better when it's hot. When it is cold or room temperature it tastes faintly like a pate, which I am not at all fond of. Warm that sucker up in the oven if you're not serving it immediately (or in the extremely unlikely event that there are leftovers!). *Makes an EXCELLENT hot salad dressing on top of a simple bed of mixed greens or wedge with avocado, cucumber, tomato, olives, and capers. The texture is perfect when it is just finished being cooked and hasn't set quite yet to pour over a salad for a unique cajun touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
being from New Orleans also, I think this is a great basic sauce... I would recommend however that if you are using left over crawfish from a seafood boil, eliminate the crab boil & cajun seasoning totally. If will be hot enough if it was from a seafood boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I rarely give 5 but let me explain. I LOVE me some seafood but have never been a fan of crawfish not to mention not a huge fan of cream cheese. I made this as a special treat for DH to go with our anniversary dinner(he loves crawfish). This was to die for! SPICY but to die for. Very good and I highly reccommend to those of you who DO love crawfish and don't mind cream cheese. I will definitely make again once the price in seafood comes down! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved it I used shrimp instead still good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Old Bay and Crab Boil are both almost entirely salt, so that's 2 tablespoons of salt, plus the extra it called for was way too much salt for my taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good recipe. It is close to exact to my crab dip recipe. Only thing extra is I add a bit of chopped green onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smurfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was awesome! I didn't add the salt but did add a few green onions. This seems too simple to be so good, but just try it and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This dip is easy, quick but WAY TOO SALTY and I didnt even add the 1 tsp of salt. I just finished making this and I had to add quite a bit of extra stuff to minimize the saltiness of it. I ended up adding sour cream, heavy cream and the rest of the second block of cream cheese. Once I fixed it, it was very good. I will make this again but with WAY less of the salty ingreidents. I think next time I will add the old Bay and crab boil 1 teaspoon each at a time. I believe 2 teaspoons of each would be plenty sufficient. I will not have to use the sour cream or heavy cream hopefully. So the flavor is good if you control the salt!! So Im adding this part of the review after the event. Everyone loved it but got 3 comments that it was a little salty...got a lot of requests for the recipe, so overall it was a very tasty dip and I totally recommend it for anyone reading. Just add the salty ingredients in small increments. I added shrimp as well, which I simply chunked with a knife. so 5 stars for flavor and ease, it too no time to make :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States