Nigerian Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
The flavor was very strong and needed no added seasonings, so I would rate the taste 5 stars. But visually, this was unappetizing, and the texture was unpleasant. It didn't look like it would taste good and the soup itself was very thin. I would add more vegetables to it if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I added hot peppers and used smooth PB as I didn't have any crunchy. Next time I will try using organic... definitely a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
WAY too rich...and I *love* PB. I think that it would make a good sauce for rice, though, if used in serious moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was so much easier than some other peanut soup recipes. I added some peas and chopped tomatoes to the soup just for more substance. I didn't have a jalapeno pepper, so I used red pepper flakes which spiced it up. This soup is great on its own without all the veggies. As another reviewer mentioned, this soup could also be served with rice--just add less broth to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
excellent and easy to make, I added red pepper seasoning to give it an even bigger kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
my family loved this soup. I thought it was a little runny, but that can be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Yummy. I LOVE this recipe. I like to use a HEAPING 1/2C of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
this recipe is so easy. I had been looking for a good peanut sauce since getting hooked on it in West Africa. This one really hit the spot. I like to eat this as a sauce over rice instead of as a soup. So I use less broth and more of everything else. I also use vegetable broth and organic peanut butter (instead of the super sweet/salty kind). Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was delicious. I used a vegetable broth instead of chicken, natural peanut butter, and added 1 additional very hot pepper (Madame Jeanette) and it was wonderful. Will definately have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Sorry but I didn't like this at all! I tried to spice it up a bit by adding more peanut butter and crushed red pepper but it still tasted awful. Consistency was very runny as well. At least it was easy to make so not too much time was wasted on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States