Nigerian Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was okay, but it seems to need more substance. (Veggies, potatoes, rice)I used a fresh habanero pepper instead of jalapeno, but other than that, I stuck to the original recipe. If I make this again, I'll double the recipe and add my own twist on it, I think. Probably diced potatoes.... Served this with Best Ever Corn Muffins, a good pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My hubands is from Ghana. He has a little different way of doing it. However, his brothers liked this recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I used vegetable broth instead of the chicken broth. Delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I enjoyed this soup very much. I added a little half and half to make it creamier. I think next time I'll add better peanut butter as mine settled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
very easy recipe to make... likeable flavour I wasn't crazy about the texture so if i make it again, I will throw it in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I added celery I used about a half of a jalapeno pepper added some red peppers. I didn't add much onion. I thought it tasted good. It was kind of runny I probably should have added more peanut butter. I didn't put 4 cups of chicken broth I only used one can. I guess I cut this recipe in half I wasn't sure if I would like it. I did like it tasted could I love spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband says this soup is awesome! I used pickled jalepenos because thats what I had. Delicious. Next time I will double the recipe so we have left overs for the next days lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granny nanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
WOW. this recipe looked very interesting, but I am on a tight budget so I had to improvise everything but the bell pepper! I started with dried onion flakes and reconstituded them in the juice from a can of cooked chicken breast meat. then I added 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper and 1 chopped green bell pepper. I sauteed until tender. Then I added 1 can cream of chicken soup with 1 can of water, the meat from the canned chicken and a sprinkle of garlic salt. I then lowered the temp and added 1 cup of peanut butter and 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar. I didn't think it was spicy enough so I added more cayenne. It was thick and creamy, salty, spicy, and rich with flavor. Absolutely delicious. I served over brown rice. I hope my husband likes it, because I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this. I believe I enjoyed it more than my husband, because I'm more used to peanut butter soup. I used red bell pepper in place of green, and I pureed my soup with an immersion blender, because my husband has texture issues with cooked veggies. Served this with grilled pb&j sandwiches and it was a comfort food for me :) Thanks for the recipe! (*In the future I would add celery, a can of Ro-tel, and some fresh thyme.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Horrible. I threw out without serving. I followed this recipe exactly - measuring everything, and timing everything precisely as it states. It is runny and tastes like spicy onion water! I do not recommend and I am not a picky eater normally. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States