Nicole's Winter Carrot Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These are pretty good. The only change I made to the ingredients was to use 3 whole eggs instead of six egg whites. I also chose to make 24 muffins instead of a loaf of bread. The spice ratio is off, so I may adjust that next time. Other than that, they were good. Nice texture. I don't recommend using paper muffin liners if you make muffins. The lack of fat causes them to stick something awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Delicious! I made this recipe with a few changes and it turned out great. 2 cups unbleached flour and 1/2 cup ground flaxseeds. I also used 3 whole eggs and plain white flour. I didn't use nutmeg as I didn't have any. I don't usually rate recipes if I've changed them but the only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the baking time was a little off. It only needs about 1/2 the time that is listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The flavor is great, but, I learned the hard way: if you are making muffins, BE CAREFUL to not overbake. If they cook too long they get dried out and loose a lot of their appeal. When checking for doneness with your toothpick don't wait until the toothpick comes out completely clean. Take the muffins out when there are still a couple of moist crumbs sticking to it. They will continue to bake for a few minutes after you take them out of the oven. I baked large 3.5" muffins (top diameter) and they were over-done at 43 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I really enjoy having a slice of breakfast bread in the morning, so I'm always looking for good recipes. I stopped using any recipes requiring oil a while back and have never turned back. Changes I made to this recipe: only used all-purpose flour, only used baking powder (they don't sell baking soda in grocery stores in the Netherlands), omitted salt, used 3 eggs instead of 6 egg whites, used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of cane sugar, and substituted chocolate chunks for the raisins (they don't sell chocolate chips here either). I usually only use half the sugar called for in recipes, but based on some other reviews I decided to keep the sugar amount called for and I'm glad I did as it turned out at just the right sweetness. I think the amount of spices was perfect, but I really like anything that includes any of the included spices. For my oven, the cooking time was perfect - to be on the safe side, I started checking the bread at around 50 minutes to verify that I was on track. I'm happy with the outcome. It could have been a bit less crumbly, but that might also be due to any of the changes that I made; I think it's also due to the lack of grease in the bread, which is a good thing. I am glad that it's not too sweet - since it's for breakfast, I'd rather not have anything super sweet early in the morning. Looking forward to enjoying this over the coming weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love this. Keep going back to this recipe, I love that it can be easily tweaked for whatever you currently have...left over steamed cauliflower-in the bread, leftover roasted beets- grated and in the bread. Don't have applesauce, but have olive oil-fine. You just can't go wrong with this bread and the grated zucchini adds such a nice pop of color. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made these as muffins and substituted the pecans with chocolate chips. EXCELLENT! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I think you have to like spice bread in order to enjoy this. It wasn't very sweet and the spices were overwhelming. No one ate it at the thanksgiving table. However, I think some people really like this sort of flavor, so don't knock it til you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Very good!! The first day it tastes like your average zucchini loaf, but the second...WOW. This is a loaf to make a day ahead of when you need it. The only changes I made was I used 3 full eggs instead of 6 egg whites and no raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Wonderul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
After trying a variety of zucchini bread recipes on this site, this is the only one I felt everyone should know about. I doubled the recipe using 6 whole eggs and all whole wheat pastry flour, but otherwise stuck to it. Super moist & perfectly spicy. Everyone I've shared it with wants the recipe (and is surprised to hear how not-bad-for-you it is)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States