Nick's Favorite Cherry Pecan Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Nothing special, just a sweet bread that takes time to make (chop nuts, chop cherries, etc) even using a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Great bread. I used less nuts. I used fat free eggs. I used some apple sauce in lieu of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Everyone really loved this cherry pecan bread when I made it! It is very tasty and stays moist. Definetly worth trying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This recipe is great. One thing I would suggest is that you cook it in a metal pan and stay away from glass for an even texture all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made this bread over Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I thought the recipe was quite simple and it stayed quite moist. Try it for something a little different and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This is a great bread recipe. I did have to make one small alteration as i did not have buttermilk on hand. I soured milk by using vinegar and it worked just as good as the buttermilk. I think next time i would add even more cherries as my family loves them. I did nopt chop the cherries into small pieces but just halved them instead. Made for nice chunks of fruit, and looked very pretty. Oh yeah, i had to cook this for almost 70 minutes and it was a large sized loaf. Still came out very moist. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Between my imagination and some reviewers’ comments, I figured if this was prepared as written with a full jar of maraschino cherries it would be very sweet; too sweet for me. Dried cherries, on the other hand, sounded like an appealing alternative. I plumped the cherries in boiling water for about 15 minutes and I liked how that turned out. The bread rose well and came out nicely rounded. It was moist and certainly not short on either cherries or nuts. But it kind of reminded me of what a golf teacher remarked to me many years ago. “Your swing is beautiful,” he said. “I can’t figure out why you’re not hitting the ball.” Similarly, in this case, everything was right. I just can’t figure out why it was so lacking in flavor. It was more nutty tasting than anything else, the batter itself fairly tasteless. A little cinnamon maybe, or some almond extract would probably help. So…yawn. Three stars. And had I made it with the full jar of maraschino cherries? Too sweet. Too maraschino cherry-y. Still three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe was good, but didn't think to flour the cut up cherries, and they all sank to the bottom. I omitted the pecans because 2 family members don't like nuts. We had tried cherry bread at Bob Evans, and that was awesome, so I was trying to find something close. This was good, but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I didn't have a full jar of mar. cherries, and I had 3 really brown bananas so I added the bananas to the mix. Also did 1/2 tsp. almond ex. and 1/2 vanilla. I ground everything up really small in my magic bullet (cherries and pecans) so my picky 8yo would eat it. It was like a Christmas bread, I thought. I guess the cherries in it made me think of the holidays! Anyway, it was really yummy & thanks for the post, we enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this bread especially for my fiance and he loved it, said it was better than he remembered as a child. He had me use almonds instead of pecans. My loaf pan was too small so with the leftover batter I was able to make 6 donuts. I have a donut pan that bakes the donuts instead of frying them. I made up a frosting of powdered sugar, butter, milk, almond extract and a little leftover cherry juice and they too were awesome! Thank you so much, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States