Nick's Favorite Cherry Pecan Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
If you like banana but bread you'll like this recipe. I didn't have pecans, merichino cherries or buttermilk. I used chopped almonds. Then scooped cherries out of a whole can of pie filling. I used one tbsp of white vinegar mixed with a cup of milk to replace buttermilk. I mixed the sugar in slowly with softened butter. I also added 4 tbsp flour to ensure it wasn't too thin. It had the consistency of cake batter. Making this again.. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Read comments and added 1 teas almond extract and 3/4 teas cinnamon. Good flavor. nice addition to my quick bread platters that I take for treats for coworkers. The red cherry color adds to presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This bread is packed with pecans and they are the predominant flavor. I was hoping to taste more cherry, but it was subtle. I used sour cherries from my tree and also used half vanilla extract and half almond extract to try and have a strong cherry flavor. Next time I will decrease the amount of nuts and increase the cherries for my liking. UPDATE: I defrosted 3 cups of cherries, used 1/2 cup of pecans and subbed almond extract for vanilla. That is how I will continue to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Between my imagination and some reviewers’ comments, I figured if this was prepared as written with a full jar of maraschino cherries it would be very sweet; too sweet for me. Dried cherries, on the other hand, sounded like an appealing alternative. I plumped the cherries in boiling water for about 15 minutes and I liked how that turned out. The bread rose well and came out nicely rounded. It was moist and certainly not short on either cherries or nuts. But it kind of reminded me of what a golf teacher remarked to me many years ago. “Your swing is beautiful,” he said. “I can’t figure out why you’re not hitting the ball.” Similarly, in this case, everything was right. I just can’t figure out why it was so lacking in flavor. It was more nutty tasting than anything else, the batter itself fairly tasteless. A little cinnamon maybe, or some almond extract would probably help. So…yawn. Three stars. And had I made it with the full jar of maraschino cherries? Too sweet. Too maraschino cherry-y. Still three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
If you like sweet homemade breads with a little pazaz this is the recipe for that. The Cherries give it an extra twang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a decently standard quick bread, but the flavor was a bit one-noted -- sweet on sweet with a hint of cherry. I made a simple pink glaze from the maraschino juice which helped rev up the cherry flavor and made the bread visually appealing... but the bread was still just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this bread especially for my fiance and he loved it, said it was better than he remembered as a child. He had me use almonds instead of pecans. My loaf pan was too small so with the leftover batter I was able to make 6 donuts. I have a donut pan that bakes the donuts instead of frying them. I made up a frosting of powdered sugar, butter, milk, almond extract and a little leftover cherry juice and they too were awesome! Thank you so much, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe was good, but didn't think to flour the cut up cherries, and they all sank to the bottom. I omitted the pecans because 2 family members don't like nuts. We had tried cherry bread at Bob Evans, and that was awesome, so I was trying to find something close. This was good, but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I usually make Cranberry Walnut bread, but saw this and thought I'd give it a try. It is wonderful. My family loved it. Sweet, but not too much. Perfect texture. It will become a holiday tradition. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States