Next Day Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was the first time I made turkey soup, and I questioned the lack of seasoning of this recipe. I ended up adding salt, pepper, thyme, rosemary, and an extra couple of cloves of garlic (you can never have too much garlic). I used golden yukon potatoes because that was what I had on hand, and did not have any green beans to throw in. After cooking the vegetables, I just threw everything in and let it all simmer for a couple of hours until around dinner time. It was very flavorful and turned out to be a huge hit. The only thing I would change next time is to cut out the pasta or use larger sized noodles. I used orzo and it was hardly noticeable in the soup, not to mention you already have the potatoes as your starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin E. Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good soup! Not sure why some find it to be bland unless they did not salt and pepper to taste. I used about 1 and 1/2 tsp of dried sage and leftover white turkey meat rather than dark meat. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was an excellent and very easy soup. I used white turkey meat since that was what we had and added a bit more broth, more noodles, and more meat. Loved the sweet potato and bean. I think it would work just as well with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Also great with Chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Love, love, love. Used left over thanksgiving turkey, bag of baby carrots, frozen bag of green beans, celery, garlic, white potatoes, one white onion, fresh sage, and orzo pasta. I will this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I added some cream of chicken soup and some cayenne pepper and I loved it. It was good even the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This soup is great for a cold day. I used half vegetable broth and half chicken broth since that was all I had, and used a white potato instead of the sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is okay. I think it lacks something, but I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
OMG! This was so delicious!!! I normally fiddle with recipes adding this or that but I stayed true to the ingredients and was so pleased. My 3 y/o ate it all up and hubby and I had seconds. I bought turkey cutlets and boiled them separately prior to making the soup. Did have to add salt and pepper at the end to taste but that was just because of the broth I used. Used ditalini pasta and was perfect for this soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made this for a ladies luncheon with chicken and it was a huge hit. My husband had the leftovers and realy liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States