Next Day Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Simple comfort food and a great way to use holiday leftovers. I did not have a sweet potato so I left it out. Served with salad and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe for boring leftover Turkey! The sweet potatoes, garlic and green beans are a great mix that adds good flavors to an otherwise boring meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This soup was delicious. I thought it had a lot of flavor. My husband normally does not like sweet potatoes but he liked this soup. And I thought they gave this soup that like extra something special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Soup was very good (with extra seasonings) and a nice treat for leftover turkey. I did make my own turkey stock from my leftover turkey and used peas and corn because I did not have any green beans. I also added more belle's seasoning because I thought the soup needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Delicious! I used my leftover thanksgiving turkey carcass cooked in the crock pot all afternoon with the onion, garlic, fresh sage and added tarragon. The last hour I added red potatoes, butternut squashed cubed small. I added my green beans a few min. before serving because they were leftovers and I did not want to overcook them. I added 2 more cloves of garlic and extra celery leaves for depth of flavor. I think the squash added to the flavor as well. I did cook a bit of rice in chicken stock on the side but it was not necessarily as this soup stands on it's own and was very hearty without pasta or rice. I think the fresh sage is especially important, don't skip this ingredient if it is available! I will be keeping this recipe, yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suamato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was looking for a turkey soup that was a little different - not the usual white potato or noodle type. This was GREAT! I made it just as written, except that I used my homemade turkey broth from the turkey carcass. I didn't have sage leaves, so I used bay leaf, and a little dried tarragon and basil. The sweet potato/turkey is a wonderful flavor combo, with all the other veg & orzo to give it body. Husband & after-Thanksgiving guests all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very tasty and easy! Even better the next day. Full of flavour and not bland in the least. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was the first time I made turkey soup, and I questioned the lack of seasoning of this recipe. I ended up adding salt, pepper, thyme, rosemary, and an extra couple of cloves of garlic (you can never have too much garlic). I used golden yukon potatoes because that was what I had on hand, and did not have any green beans to throw in. After cooking the vegetables, I just threw everything in and let it all simmer for a couple of hours until around dinner time. It was very flavorful and turned out to be a huge hit. The only thing I would change next time is to cut out the pasta or use larger sized noodles. I used orzo and it was hardly noticeable in the soup, not to mention you already have the potatoes as your starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin E. Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good soup! Not sure why some find it to be bland unless they did not salt and pepper to taste. I used about 1 and 1/2 tsp of dried sage and leftover white turkey meat rather than dark meat. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was an excellent and very easy soup. I used white turkey meat since that was what we had and added a bit more broth, more noodles, and more meat. Loved the sweet potato and bean. I think it would work just as well with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States