Next Day Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Forrest Green
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I knew with the full amount of liquid, this would be more soupy than I prefer. My minimal changes were halving the liquid, 1.5 the orzo and just because for flavor, 1/4 teaspoon of turmeric. Ended up hearty and thick, just as hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forrest Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Really good, I used regular potatoes instead of sweet. I doubled the recipe and froze half for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Love this. Didn't use sage and added marjarom, thyme, rosemary, and a little crushed red pepper. Didn't use green beans or sweet potato. Opted for fresh baby spinach at the end for some greenery. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Cooper
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Pretty good soup. I followed the recipe with two minor exceptions: I used about 1.5 cups (instead of 1/2 cup) of Skinners Wide Egg Noodles as the pasta, and I used white meat turkey instead of dark meat. The broth I used was home made turkey broth made from our Thanksgiving turkey carcass. The rub I'd used on my turkey added some flavor to the soup, otherwise I think some rosemary would have been nice. Also would probably be good with wild rice. This will likely become my weekend-after-Thanksgiving staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dardago, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Simple comfort food and a great way to use holiday leftovers. I did not have a sweet potato so I left it out. Served with salad and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe for boring leftover Turkey! The sweet potatoes, garlic and green beans are a great mix that adds good flavors to an otherwise boring meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This soup was delicious. I thought it had a lot of flavor. My husband normally does not like sweet potatoes but he liked this soup. And I thought they gave this soup that like extra something special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Soup was very good (with extra seasonings) and a nice treat for leftover turkey. I did make my own turkey stock from my leftover turkey and used peas and corn because I did not have any green beans. I also added more belle's seasoning because I thought the soup needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Delicious! I used my leftover thanksgiving turkey carcass cooked in the crock pot all afternoon with the onion, garlic, fresh sage and added tarragon. The last hour I added red potatoes, butternut squashed cubed small. I added my green beans a few min. before serving because they were leftovers and I did not want to overcook them. I added 2 more cloves of garlic and extra celery leaves for depth of flavor. I think the squash added to the flavor as well. I did cook a bit of rice in chicken stock on the side but it was not necessarily as this soup stands on it's own and was very hearty without pasta or rice. I think the fresh sage is especially important, don't skip this ingredient if it is available! I will be keeping this recipe, yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Karaban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was looking for a turkey soup that was a little different - not the usual white potato or noodle type. This was GREAT! I made it just as written, except that I used my homemade turkey broth from the turkey carcass. I didn't have sage leaves, so I used bay leaf, and a little dried tarragon and basil. The sweet potato/turkey is a wonderful flavor combo, with all the other veg & orzo to give it body. Husband & after-Thanksgiving guests all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States