Next-Best-Thing-To-Robert-Redford Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
So good and sinful! I increased the crust to 1 c. butter + 1.5 c. nuts + 1.5 cups flour and it was plenty to fill the bottom of a 9x13 pan. The crust is so good, you can't have too much of it! I tried the recipe once with 1 chocolate and 1 vanilla pudding, and again with 2 chocolate puddings, both were yummy. Also instead of chocolate shavings on top, I just set aside a few chopped nuts and sprinkle those on top. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I have had this pie many many times, but this particular recipe is terrible. The measurements are off (especially the pudding part). I have way more of the cream cheese layer than the pudding layer, and usually it was about equal parts of both. The consistency of the cream cheese layer was also off. It was too runny. I wouldn't make this again from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This is my old Lemon Lush Recipe!! I had forgotton all about it. It is wonderful and easy. I use a little less (1/2) butter in the crust and powdered sugar instead. Any nuts I have on hand...cashews, pecans and walnuts work the best. My lemon version uses 2 pkgs instant lemon pudding, follow the rest of the recipe and use a little lemon zest to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I grew up with an easier version, which is just as good, and makes more sense, as it is blonde, just like Mr. Redford! Substitute the crust mixture for a pre-made graham cracker crust. Substitute the puddings with two packages of butterscotch pudding. Substitute the semisweet chocolate with 3 crushed butterfingers. layer: 1/2 cream cheese/cool whip filling 1/2 crushed butterfingers all pudding filling 1/2 cream cheese cool whip filling 1/2 crushed butterfingers Ten minute pie. Super fast, super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
The recipe is delicious but it needed a few adjustments for me. For one the crust could in no way cover a 9x13 pan no matter how hard I tried, so I moved it to a 8x8 pan and it was perfect, but I like a little thickness to my crust, especially this one as it is like a shortbread. The other thing was not to put whip cream in the cream cheese mixture because it really dilutes the flavor. Also, if you toast the nuts before adding them to the crust really makes a difference. Excellent end result!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I'm giving the recipe 4 stars because the flavor is unbelievable but the consistency in the whipped cream layer is to runny, need to make an adjustment to this part of the recipe. The rest is perfect I omitted vanilla pudding and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
My grandmother made this when I was little, and I have never met anyone who ever called it by the same name. I grew up thinking Robert Redford was just the name of a great dessert!! Thank you for all of the memories that came flooding back when I bit into this fabulous pie! I am forever grateful....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGinCOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My grandma made this every Thanksgiving! We LOVE it & still make it every year. The only difference is that instead of a chocolate garnish we to toasted coconut, it's really yummy. Also our crust is slightly different: 1 c. Flour, 1 c. Nuts, and 1/2 c. melted butter. melting the butter makes it much easier to press into the pan! Just reduce the baking time to 15 minutes to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I actually used a graham cracker crust using butter and sugar. I cooked it in the oven on 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Once it was cooled, I used my spatula around all the sides to make it so the crust wouldn't "stick" and be hard to cut into later on. I mixed chocolate fudge and vanilla pudding together. It so soo delish that way. On the top i grated a semi-sweet baking bar on top. This is my all tim fav dessert ever =) thankz for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Delicious. Looked it up by name as I had it years ago. Didn't change anything on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States