Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Best chowder ever! Went out and raked up our own fresh quahogs in Newport and used those. I'm in love and will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Wow, very easy recipe, followed the directions to the T and let me say, amazing, brings back the taste of home, as I am from RI. Thank you so much for posting this. Only thing is out here in PA, I would say cost a bit of money to make as the clam juice was $2.99 each for the 6 8 ounce jars of clam juice. I also didn't do this with fresh clams, I used 4 10 oz bumble bee fancy whole baby clams. Never the less, simply amazing, I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
IMO the best NE clam chowder of the bunch on this website
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Outstanding!!!! This was so easy to make came home from work and we were eating by 6:30 I chose to use 4 cans of clams and also added celery in when you add the clam and juice to onion mix. Family loved it and I think that it might be the best chowder since I was in New England!!!!! Try it you will love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
***Save time AND money!*** Instead of buying fresh clams, buy 6 canned and reserve the juice (since it's packed in clam juice anyway) and buy only 3 bottles of juice. The amount of clam juice in the cans is enough to save you $$ on more. Now, since you decided to use canned clams, you do NOT need to cook these up on the clam juice as they will become rubbery and tough if you do. Also, cook the potatoes in a separate pot ahead of time and you'll be all set to throw everything together. Add 3 slices of bacon and celery if desired. You now have a clam chowder that has TONS more clams and you've saved money on juice. IF you wanted to save more money then I suppose you could cut the clam juice by adding chicken broth and juice just from the canned clams but I have never tried this myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isis23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I added 6oz of smoked salmon and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I loved this recipe. I took reviewers advice and used four slabs of bacon fat and offset the difference with butter. I used five cans of clams, one bottle of clam juice and the rest was chicken broth. I added the clams when I put in the potatoes. I also added the chopped cooked bacon, and some red pepper and old bay seasoning. My husband and I loved it. I also used four stalks of celery with the chopped onions. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
ahhh - freshly caught clams makes the best chowder!! we loved this kids and all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Oh this chowder was so good! I'm from Maine, so no traditional chowder from my neck of the woods has celery and carrots in it like many of the recipes on here. Gah.... I subbed a few ingredients, as I only had bottled clam juice and canned chopped clams. I also only had light cream instead of half and half. But the consistancy was SO good! Thick, creamy and reminded me of canned clam chowder but without the nasty canned soup taste, of course! Oh, and I used bacon grease in place of butter. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Oh my gosh! I have never made clam chowder before, and I've never had Newport style. My husband and I LOVED this recipe, and LOVED the thinner consistency. I didn't have any fresh clams so I just got the canned ones. I used 6 6.5oz cans chopped clams in their own juice, and 6 8oz jars of clam juice. It was amazing! Everything else was per recipe instructions, except I didn't have any dill. I topped it with a pat of butter, a little salt and pepper, and some old bay as another reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States