Newfoundland-Style Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have tried it loved it. We ate our soup with some plain dinner rolls. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I used this recipe for my first attempt at pea soup. It was awesome. I added a little celery and onion and it was fantastic. My 10 year old told me it was the most amazing pea soup ever. Quite the compliment. It was a little runnier than I was used to growing up so the only thing that I will do next time is cut back slightly on the water. I found a recipe for dumplings on another site and the combination was great. This is a true Newfie pea soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I love this homemade Newfoundland pea soup! Only thing is, I'm a newfie living in New York and can't get salt beef here :( I will have to stick to making this when I'm home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Yummy!This recipe is just like my mother's. The only difference is we also add a diced onion and a couple of cubes potatoes. Delicious, and even better on the second day when its nice and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Some shockin' good me ol' trout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Loved it! And so did everyone else. NL Pea Soup has always been my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I thought this recipe was delicious. I found "salt beef" at my local grocery store as "naval beef". It came frozen in a big tub. I used about 5 pieces of the beef, but off all the fat and was left with a bit less than a pound of small cubed beef. I used 3 cups of split peas instead of two, and also used about 12 cups of water. I added water every 20 min or so, everytime it seemed to simmer down a lot. I didnt soak the peas or the meat. I had to boil the meat and peas for 2 hours before adding the vegtables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allybaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I make "newfie pea soup" all the time...I would like to add that I also put chicken wings in mine, my Nan always did when I was a child and all my family members back home still cook it this way. Also I have never heard of anyone soaking the salt beef before hand. I always just throw it in the pot with the peas and let it cook up for about 2 hours before i start putting in the veggies. It's important to keep adding water. Also I always finish with dumplings (or doughboys as we call em' back home:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I usually make this soup after I've had a ham cooked. I use the large bone from the ham and some leftover cubed ham to add to the soup. Gives it great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I love any recipe that helps me recreate that back home feeling and salt beef is always a winner. For those that don't know of it, it is like corned beef (and cabbage) brisket. Salt beef is sold as "Naval beef" in 5 and 10 lb plastic tubs filled with brined chunks of beef in the chilled grocery section. Make sure you soak it well for a number of hours to remove the salt (change the water mid way if you really want to remove all salt). I prefer it a bit salty, because the way my mother would always cook it. Thank you Carolyn. (Any chance for Fish and Brewis?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States