Newfoundland Jigg's Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used this recipe as a guideline for the first time I ever made Jiggs Dinner and it came out really well! Great recipe, thanks! From a Newfoundlander born on the west coast! :)P.S. I really liked the peas pudding and the dumplings came out perfect all floating on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My parents always made this dinner every holiday and I just started making it for my own family. I can't get enough of the pease pudding and salt beef...always my favourite. NOTES: Salt beef = aka: cured naval beef, you can sometimes buy it in bulk where you can pick and choose your beef rather than buying a bucket that is often very fatty. If you come across a Newfoundland store, just ask the owners (they usually have the bulk beef in the "back"..they're not really supposed to advertise/sell it in bulk due to new regulations). Other than that....eat it up, it's some good 'by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
My husbands from Newfoundland and we absolutely love this dinner!!! We have it every Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMAMAMIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I love this recipe but there is one thing that I do differently. When making peas pudding I always hated cleaning the bag afterwards so instead I use a mason jar. Fill jar about 1 third to 1 half full.(The more people that you are cooking for the bigger the mason jar) Poke about 8-10 holes in the lid with a sharp knife. ( be very careful when doing this and remember to keep the lid so you will only have to do this once) Tie a string around the bottle just under the lid and tie the other end to the handle of your pot for easy removal. After it has boiled with the meat and it is time to start adding vegtables, carefully take the bottle out of the water and let sit until veggies are almost cooked. before removing lid drain off any excess water through the holes in the lid, then just dump peas into bowl and season with butter and pepper. Clean up is so much easier, just rinse jar and put in dishwasher or clean with warm soapy water and a bottle brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
YUM! This is my favorite Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Should have read the reviews before trying to make this one. Although corned beef is completely different than salt beef, it's also completely tasty and can be used in the dinner instead if desired, although this makes it more English/Irish than Newfoundlander. I also had a hard time even finding corned beef, but eventually I did find some at a specialty meat market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I love this recipe, I make it all the time for my family. Just a tip for those who haven't made anything like this before, be patient, and remember not to lift the pot lid when you are making the dumplings or they will go gooey in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I just want to add a couple of things for anyone interested. For any onion lovers, add full onions at the same time when adding the potatoes. Also when I cook Jigg's dinner, I also bake a chicken (or turkey) stuffed with dressing and when it is all cooked I add the stock from the vegetables with the chicken stock and make gravy. This dinner is our traditional Christmas, Thanksgiving and Easter Sunday dinners in Newfoundland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I submitted this recipe and I just wanted to make a clarification. You want to use Salt Beef or Salt Pork riblets (they are brine cured and can be purchased in pails). Corned beef is a completely different product, with spices and a different taste. Allrecipes changed the recipe when I submitted it, they probably thought it was the same thing and it isn't. Also, it's probably best to keep the potatoes whole, or halved of they're large otherwise they'll end up boiling away to nothing. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States