New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This was a great recipe!!! I halved it because I wasn't sure if we would like it.We used our favorite brand of hotdogs,can't get loose hotdogs here.The celery salt sprinkled over the sandwich is a must----it adds something,it really makes a difference,I didn't think it would LOL Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Closest you will get without going down to Olneyville. Great flavor. Don't forget to add chopped raw onion, mustard, and celery salt for "one all the way". Only thing I changed was to add ~ 12 oz of tomato sauce before simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Wow! Just like our favorite Hot Weiner place in North Providence. Didn't change a thing. This is what RI New York System Weiners are s'posed to taste like. Wish I had a coffee cabinet. (Rhodese for coffee milkshake). Simmered on low for about 45 to 60 minutes. Stirred occaisionally. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These were great!! Def a lot cheaper to make them then to buy them. For those who don't live in RI they cost about $1.50 for a small wiener. My step-daughter said I should open a shack this summer and sell these, lol. The kids ate them just the dog and meat sauce. But my hubby and me ate ours "all the way" mustard, celery salt and onions! It would have been absolutely perfect if I had coffee syrup to make coffee milk. (i know what type of Rhode Islander am I not to have any in my fridge?!?) Wieners and coffee milk go perfect together!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I found this too dry to simmer for an hour, so I added a small can of tomato sauce. It made a big difference. I also added some crushed red pepper. We had steak and hot dogs on the grill, and my husband said he would rather have had just hot dogs, because the sauce is so good! We had them the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This was something different and very good; we've used it on several occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I am not a Rhode Islander but i have eaten at Sam's New York System in N. Providence. Not sure on how to order it i was instructed to eat it "All the Way" which means mustard, onion celery salt and of course the NY System Sauce. I inhaled 4 of these things and even though i was stuffed i still wanted more. The moment i returned to Delaware I did a search on All Recipes and found this recipe. I couldnt tell the differance. Perfect Recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is as fine a hot dog sauce as you'll find on the internet and I give it an additional 5 stars for ease of cooking. If you want a hot dog sauce that is easy, fast and suits everyone, you've found it! Great job, Nancy -- you bailed me out of a mess (ruined another recipe sauce that took 6 hours and wasn't nearly as good as this one anyway). I realize that this recipe was posted to yield a particular commercial sauce but I'll use this one as a base sauce, make a few changes, just to suit my own tastes in the future. Next time, I'll dice a real onion, use prepared mustard and increase (slightly) the catsup and worcestershire sauce. I'll probably add a diced green pepper too and jump the cooking time to 90 minutes, adding chicken stock as needed to keep it from scorching. Again, thanks so much for sharing you recipe, Nancy -- great stuff. Pat, the old Bone Man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
My entire family enjoyed this coney sauce! The only thing I did differently was cut the recipe in half and browned the meat with 1/4 cup of onion and 1/4 green pepper and I did omit the ginger. Terrific to freeze and keep for those "hot dog nights".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This recipe was really good. I did need to add a small can of tomato sauce to make it a little thinner. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States