New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is the best hot dog sauce I've ever made. I sauted some chopped onions with the ground beef, then once it was browned and drained, I put it in the food processor to get a finer texture to the meat. The only thing I skipped was the ginger. I added some extra catsup and a little water or it would have been too dry. The only change I might make next time is to substitute tomato sauce for 1/2 the catsup so it's not quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
made theses tonight for some friends,,,THEY WERE GREAT !!!!!!some friends even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
The only things I did differently was to omit the ginger, and I used prepared English mustard. We thought this was really tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This is a terrific wiener sauce. We used onion/ garlic powder instead of onion/garlic salt and DID need to add a couple of extra ounces of ketchup because we felt the sauce was a little too thick. We didn't simmer the full hour - maybe 30 minutes. This recipe makes a very thick topping - which is what we've been looking for. 5 stars for taste and 5 stars for easiness. Give this recipe a try. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is as fine a hot dog sauce as you'll find on the internet and I give it an additional 5 stars for ease of cooking. If you want a hot dog sauce that is easy, fast and suits everyone, you've found it! Great job, Nancy -- you bailed me out of a mess (ruined another recipe sauce that took 6 hours and wasn't nearly as good as this one anyway). I realize that this recipe was posted to yield a particular commercial sauce but I'll use this one as a base sauce, make a few changes, just to suit my own tastes in the future. Next time, I'll dice a real onion, use prepared mustard and increase (slightly) the catsup and worcestershire sauce. I'll probably add a diced green pepper too and jump the cooking time to 90 minutes, adding chicken stock as needed to keep it from scorching. Again, thanks so much for sharing you recipe, Nancy -- great stuff. Pat, the old Bone Man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I found this too dry to simmer for an hour, so I added a small can of tomato sauce. It made a big difference. I also added some crushed red pepper. We had steak and hot dogs on the grill, and my husband said he would rather have had just hot dogs, because the sauce is so good! We had them the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
My entire family enjoyed this coney sauce! The only thing I did differently was cut the recipe in half and browned the meat with 1/4 cup of onion and 1/4 green pepper and I did omit the ginger. Terrific to freeze and keep for those "hot dog nights".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This recipe was really good. I did need to add a small can of tomato sauce to make it a little thinner. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This was a great recipe!!! I halved it because I wasn't sure if we would like it.We used our favorite brand of hotdogs,can't get loose hotdogs here.The celery salt sprinkled over the sandwich is a must----it adds something,it really makes a difference,I didn't think it would LOL Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This was something different and very good; we've used it on several occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States