New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this is the closet I've ever had to a real hot weiner. It's not a chili or a coney dog!! Delicious from an Olneyville lover. Must have onion and celery salt and mustard. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medusa, New York, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Oh, sooo good! I agree with mariellen188 - the celery salt sprinkled on top is a must. We used Nathan's hot dogs. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Wow! Just like our favorite Hot Weiner place in North Providence. Didn't change a thing. This is what RI New York System Weiners are s'posed to taste like. Wish I had a coffee cabinet. (Rhodese for coffee milkshake). Simmered on low for about 45 to 60 minutes. Stirred occaisionally. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Made today and it was a hit. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
not that this recipe needs another 5 star rating but WOW is this good! I used ground pork as I always do in place of beef. Added a chopped onion and used half ketchup and half tomato sauce (as many others did,I increased the tomato sauce slightly)I wonder how this would be as a sloppy joe or maybe a taco meat. I may need to try. Will let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was really great coney sauce! I'm trying to replicate my favorite Greek coney sauce from the greek coney island places, and this is on the right track but still something is missing. Nice tangy flavor, not tomatoey. We all thought it needed more spice. I made this and another coney sauce and we had taste tests, we liked both but this was the winner. Thanks, this was great, we enjoyed our coneys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I am from R.I. and this is it! The recipe I have been looking for! It makes alot so you can freeze leftovers. Make sure to use weiners not hot dogs and to steam them and the buns! Just like at Kip's from back home! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Closest you will get without going down to Olneyville. Great flavor. Don't forget to add chopped raw onion, mustard, and celery salt for "one all the way". Only thing I changed was to add ~ 12 oz of tomato sauce before simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Where I live in the midwest we don't have anything like this. I really liked it. The celery salt does add a great flavor. I did have to add extra ketchup, next time, I think I'll get rid of the ketchup altogether and use some tomato paste and water, help it not be so salty. We all ejoyed it, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Oh Yum! I've been making this now for several years and can't believe I forgot to rate it. It doesn't matter what's on the menu for the cookout, someone always wants me to throw a few dogs on the grill also. They try to tell me it's for the little kids, but I know it's so they can have a coney. To make it easier on myself, I make batches of this throughout the summer and freeze it in varying amounts so I'm always ready for the next cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States