New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I made this as close as I could with the ingredients I had on hand. It tasted good. With only 1 lb. of hamburger. I didn't have celery salt or garlic salt or onion salt . So I subbed. 1 cup of onions 1teas. Of garlic some of the spices I didn't want to put in nutmeg or allspice this sounded like pie spices. I put in tomato sauce Not ketchup. My husband loves to put hot sauce on his hot dogs. So he. Put some in his sauce. This is a very good hot dog sauce. We will make this again. Freezes well. Always a good recipe for. Watching football games. Or a fast dinner. Thank you. Nancy Carla T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made it to exact as it showed in the recipe and I don't think it was any good for any hot hotdog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry McCrory
Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was an awesome hot dog sauce. Great sauce for a crowd, it is something everyone who loves hot dog sauce would enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Just like the real thing. I add some water to help it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this for my, but omitted the ketchup. We both thought it was good and a great tie over until we can travel up north and get the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I doubled the recipe. Had to increase the dry spices slightly. Absolutely amazing and awesomelicious!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing xoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I changed the garlic salt and onion salt to fresh garlic 4 minced cloves and 2 med onions small dice. 2oz ketchup+8oz can tomato sauce. My husband swears it's the best sauce he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bradford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
While the final product was great, it took a lot of adjusting to make it so. I would say the hamburg is out of proportion to the other ingredients - maybe a typo? As presented, the result does not even come close to the RI sauce. I'd bet the hamburg should probably be in the 1 to 1/5 lb. range not 3. Will definitely make it again, but not use 3 pounds of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was very good, I too added a small can of tomato sauce. It was so much for the consitency as it was too lessen the sweetness of the ketchup. It was a rather dry sauce, not much liquid to it, even after adding the tomato sauce but it had great flavor. I would certainly make it again but am still on the hunt for the kind of sauce I've been looking for. And I must say, the additional shake of celery salt on top of the dogs/sauce just before eating them, SUPERB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danmango
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Too sweet, after being a Rhode Islander for 30 some odd years, I can taste the difference. I'm going to try a tomato paste rather than katchup in my next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States