New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This was something different and very good; we've used it on several occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This was a great recipe!!! I halved it because I wasn't sure if we would like it.We used our favorite brand of hotdogs,can't get loose hotdogs here.The celery salt sprinkled over the sandwich is a must----it adds something,it really makes a difference,I didn't think it would LOL Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
My entire family enjoyed this coney sauce! The only thing I did differently was cut the recipe in half and browned the meat with 1/4 cup of onion and 1/4 green pepper and I did omit the ginger. Terrific to freeze and keep for those "hot dog nights".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Closest you will get without going down to Olneyville. Great flavor. Don't forget to add chopped raw onion, mustard, and celery salt for "one all the way". Only thing I changed was to add ~ 12 oz of tomato sauce before simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
made theses tonight for some friends,,,THEY WERE GREAT !!!!!!some friends even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is the best hot dog sauce I've ever made. I sauted some chopped onions with the ground beef, then once it was browned and drained, I put it in the food processor to get a finer texture to the meat. The only thing I skipped was the ginger. I added some extra catsup and a little water or it would have been too dry. The only change I might make next time is to substitute tomato sauce for 1/2 the catsup so it's not quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Oh Yum! I've been making this now for several years and can't believe I forgot to rate it. It doesn't matter what's on the menu for the cookout, someone always wants me to throw a few dogs on the grill also. They try to tell me it's for the little kids, but I know it's so they can have a coney. To make it easier on myself, I make batches of this throughout the summer and freeze it in varying amounts so I'm always ready for the next cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I am from R.I. and this is it! The recipe I have been looking for! It makes alot so you can freeze leftovers. Make sure to use weiners not hot dogs and to steam them and the buns! Just like at Kip's from back home! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was really great coney sauce! I'm trying to replicate my favorite Greek coney sauce from the greek coney island places, and this is on the right track but still something is missing. Nice tangy flavor, not tomatoey. We all thought it needed more spice. I made this and another coney sauce and we had taste tests, we liked both but this was the winner. Thanks, this was great, we enjoyed our coneys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
not that this recipe needs another 5 star rating but WOW is this good! I used ground pork as I always do in place of beef. Added a chopped onion and used half ketchup and half tomato sauce (as many others did,I increased the tomato sauce slightly)I wonder how this would be as a sloppy joe or maybe a taco meat. I may need to try. Will let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States