New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
AWESOME!!!!Just like the ones I had when in Providence RI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My family LOVED this for dinner. We have a 5 to feed and half this recipe was enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
okay...oddly enough I just watched an episode on one of the cooking shows where Guy Fieri went to this place and said they were the best dogs ever. I have never had them but love michigans and all sorts of chilli dogs so I was very interested. It showed them fixing them up the arm and all. I just want to say that this recipes seems diff. in some ways (than what the taping showed) the owner/manager was cooking diced onions in oil to start with, then added the meat and seasoning.....I am not really sure that there was any tomatoe product in the mix at all. Not really sure but I am so curious about the recipe and the restaurant that I am gonna give it a go this afternoon! I think I will modify if based on what I saw on TV but then follow the rest of this recipe as stated (as in spices and probably the tomatoe product too). I will update later for anyone who cares to read!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These were great!! Def a lot cheaper to make them then to buy them. For those who don't live in RI they cost about $1.50 for a small wiener. My step-daughter said I should open a shack this summer and sell these, lol. The kids ate them just the dog and meat sauce. But my hubby and me ate ours "all the way" mustard, celery salt and onions! It would have been absolutely perfect if I had coffee syrup to make coffee milk. (i know what type of Rhode Islander am I not to have any in my fridge?!?) Wieners and coffee milk go perfect together!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Tastes very close to "wienie joint" sauce! I froze my extras to serve at a BBQ. Very easy to make and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good. Awesome flavor and nice and thick to stay on the hot dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I am not a Rhode Islander but i have eaten at Sam's New York System in N. Providence. Not sure on how to order it i was instructed to eat it "All the Way" which means mustard, onion celery salt and of course the NY System Sauce. I inhaled 4 of these things and even though i was stuffed i still wanted more. The moment i returned to Delaware I did a search on All Recipes and found this recipe. I couldnt tell the differance. Perfect Recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
There wasn't enough liquid to simmer for the 1 hour so I added about 3/4 a cup of hot sauce. This gave a spicier and thinner sauce. Not what I remembered from back up in Jersey, but on the right track with the nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this is the closet I've ever had to a real hot weiner. It's not a chili or a coney dog!! Delicious from an Olneyville lover. Must have onion and celery salt and mustard. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medusa, New York, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Oh, sooo good! I agree with mariellen188 - the celery salt sprinkled on top is a must. We used Nathan's hot dogs. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States