New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I am not a Rhode Islander but i have eaten at Sam's New York System in N. Providence. Not sure on how to order it i was instructed to eat it "All the Way" which means mustard, onion celery salt and of course the NY System Sauce. I inhaled 4 of these things and even though i was stuffed i still wanted more. The moment i returned to Delaware I did a search on All Recipes and found this recipe. I couldnt tell the differance. Perfect Recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
There wasn't enough liquid to simmer for the 1 hour so I added about 3/4 a cup of hot sauce. This gave a spicier and thinner sauce. Not what I remembered from back up in Jersey, but on the right track with the nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this is the closet I've ever had to a real hot weiner. It's not a chili or a coney dog!! Delicious from an Olneyville lover. Must have onion and celery salt and mustard. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medusa, New York, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Oh, sooo good! I agree with mariellen188 - the celery salt sprinkled on top is a must. We used Nathan's hot dogs. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Wow! Just like our favorite Hot Weiner place in North Providence. Didn't change a thing. This is what RI New York System Weiners are s'posed to taste like. Wish I had a coffee cabinet. (Rhodese for coffee milkshake). Simmered on low for about 45 to 60 minutes. Stirred occaisionally. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Made today and it was a hit. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
not that this recipe needs another 5 star rating but WOW is this good! I used ground pork as I always do in place of beef. Added a chopped onion and used half ketchup and half tomato sauce (as many others did,I increased the tomato sauce slightly)I wonder how this would be as a sloppy joe or maybe a taco meat. I may need to try. Will let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was really great coney sauce! I'm trying to replicate my favorite Greek coney sauce from the greek coney island places, and this is on the right track but still something is missing. Nice tangy flavor, not tomatoey. We all thought it needed more spice. I made this and another coney sauce and we had taste tests, we liked both but this was the winner. Thanks, this was great, we enjoyed our coneys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I am from R.I. and this is it! The recipe I have been looking for! It makes alot so you can freeze leftovers. Make sure to use weiners not hot dogs and to steam them and the buns! Just like at Kip's from back home! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Closest you will get without going down to Olneyville. Great flavor. Don't forget to add chopped raw onion, mustard, and celery salt for "one all the way". Only thing I changed was to add ~ 12 oz of tomato sauce before simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States