New York Style Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This dough recipe is great. It varies a LOT depending on how much extra flour you add to it and also how high of a heat you cook it at. We have had success heating it up to 500 degrees for about 6-8 minutes. That way, it's cooked all the way through, but it's still nice and floppy. You can add olive oil and garlic to your (if you choose to do so) cheese stuffed crust and have bread sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is a great pizza but not NY pizza. Commercial ovens just don't do the same job as a true pizza oven. This is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Although I don't fully believe this to be a true New York pizza crust, we really liked it. I will definitly keep it in my recipe box. My husband prefers a soft chewy crust so this was a great dough for him. As for toppings I used what I had; mozzarella, pepperoni, and pizza sauce and it turned it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This recipe was good. I used a 12 inch pizza pan and after it finished it was more like a Chicago pie then a NY pizza. I think I should have used a bigger pizza pan. Also I used regular tomato sauce and it left the pizza tasting a little salty. Next time I will try this with and tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes that say no salt added. Anyhow, this recipe was good and I will be trying it again with my recommendations of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was tatsy, but my crust was more bread-like, not thin and chewy like New York style pizza. It was quick and easy to make, just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I rarely bake anything well but this was so delicious and easy to make. I made the dough the day before, the next day it came out super stretchy. Stretched dough onto a baking tray and added: - Tomato pizza sauce base. - Italian herbs/spices. - Mozzarella. - Carbanossi. - Vegetables (Capsicum, onion and mushroom) Baked for 15min and it was done. I was so pleased when I pulled it out of the oven it looked great. The crust was golden and the toppings had settled into the cheese. I was even more pleased when I was able to fold my slice of pizza. I dread hard pizza bases but this was soft/foldable and delicious! I'll never buy at Pizzahut or frozen pizzas again. Thanks for the recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
You will get a much better result if you let the dough rise a second time after slightly deflating it and re-balling it. Also, mix only 1/2 of your flour with the water, yeast and olive until just combined. Let rest covered for 20 minutes and then mix in the rest of your flour and salt and knead. You will see a HUGE improvement in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatlocalchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great receipe for the dough, I made my own topping. The dough was super easy to make and very fragrant. Loved it, will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
New York-style Pizza? Not even close. I'm a New Yorker and can say positively this is not how you make a New York-style pie and is not what you will get from a NY pizza street vendor or from an elite NY pizza restaurant. I tried this recipe many moons ago but finally learned how its done. Several of us on Pizzamaking.com have documented the recipe for making authentic NY-style pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States